Quick Brown Rice and Mushroom Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This had great flavor even though I didn't have any mushrooms on hand. I will definitely make again when I need an easy rice dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This was a great recipe. I altered the way it was cooked because I didn't have any minute rice on hand. I used regular brown rice and a rice cooker. I added two lumps of chicken boullion to the water I normally would use to cook the rice. When it was nearly cooked through, I added the chopped onion to the rice cooker, and then a few minutes later I added the mushrooms (I skipped the celery because I didn't have any). The flavor of the rice is great with the mushrooms. I added the parsley and walnuts afterwards. Delicious. I'd make this again, it's healthy, and really improves the taste of boring plain brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERIKABATEMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
My family loved this brown rice recipe. I added some sodium free chicken instant bouillon to cut down on the sodium content. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Quick, easy, delicious and healthy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I made this recipe recently and loved it. I did not make any changes to it. I would reccomend low sodium broth just to cut out the sodium. Overall it was simple and quick to make and very tasty. I used baby bella mushrooms and the recipe had a great nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennymitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Great taste, but next time I'll use regular brown rice instead of quick rice for the rice its self was a bit lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
What a wonderful flavor! I didn't change a thing and it tasted great! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I was looking for a way to use fresh crimini mushrooms, before they went bad, and came across this rice dish. As I did not have all the ingredients, on hand, I had to make a couple of substitutions. I used scallions instead of onions and wild rice instead of instant brown. Oh, I also toasted the walnuts. Even with the substitutions this was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Great recipe! My grocery store was out of Minute Brown Rice so I bought Success Boil-in-Bag, cut open 2 bags, and simmered for 10 minutes. Went well with my grilled kabobs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I cook probably once every 5 years or so (yes YEARS...), I wanted to do something to help wifey, but it had to be quick and easy. This was both; someone with experience chopping stuff could do this in about 15 minutes. I left out the nuts, but it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States