Quick Brown Rice and Mushroom Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Very good. I used a half can of Beef Consomme and added water instead of the chicken broth. I also used toasted almond slices instead of the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I made some substitutions to this recipe, but it still came out great! It was my first time making a pilaf. I used vegetable broth to make it vegetarian and used pecans instead of walnuts because that's what I had in the house. The biggest change I made was using regular brown rice. I started it in the rice maker, but when there was 10 minutes left on it, I stopped it to finish it as the recipe states. It turned out just fine! I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was great. I left out the chicken broth and the parsley and walnuts because they weren't on hand... and I used canned mushrooms, and it was still good. Looking forward to trying it with those ingredients next time! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Great recipe! I've been looking for a way to jazz up brown rice and this was quick and easy. I didn't have fresh mushrooms so I used canned and I used toasted pine nuts instead of walnuts. My husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Very easy, very yummy! All that needs to be said, actually! Though i did not have any celery i used celery salt instead and also had to settle for almonds instead of walnuts, which i rosted first... still good! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katja

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hanau, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I loved this. So simple and such good flavor. I used beef broth and increased the celery slightly. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Linden, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Delicious! I will admit I burned the walnuts the first time around, and had to cook a second batch with a closer eye. They browned much faster than I expected. Will definitely make this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I loved this recipe. I did make a few changes. I used fresh chicken broth to avoid the extra sodium. I sauteed the onions, mushrooms, red pepper, and celery in olive oil and fresh pepper first and then added black beans.I didn't have walnuts but will definitely add them the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
We enjoyed this side dish although I made a few changes based on what i had on hand. I added chopped celery in addition to the other veggies and used Trader Joe's precooked brown rice that I had microwaved. Added the rice to the sauteed veggies and topped with chopped cilantro. Very fresh with healthy ingredients. Thanks for the recipe. I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
this was good, although it wasn't a big hit with my boys, they found it dry & aren't as fond of brown rice as white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deetergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nappanee, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States