Quick Breakfast in a Pita Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Great recipe for a "Quick Breakfast"! I made this for my husband to take to work. I added just a touch of milk to the eggs to get them nice and fluffy. I also used the recipe for "Herbie's Home Fries" on this site to add a little pizzaz to "cooked and diced" potatoes. All that was left to do was add some cheddar cheese and ham. This is a great base for whatever add-in's such as cheeses, veggies, or breakfast meats you choose. Definitely a great "on-the-go" breakfast meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2001
I've made a dish like this before but my boyfriend doesn't eat eggs. Crumbled up, sauteed tofu (with garlic, onion and spices) makes a delicious subsitute for the egg. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
Very good. I cook my potatoes with garlic, onion, and a touch of olive oil. I also add bacon, cheese, and avocado. My husband loves these!! And my two and half year old too!YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
This was okay but the potatoes made the pita really dense. I thought it would be better with the scrambled eggs and something like tomato or broccoli. Then serve the potatoes on the side. But the pita was very filling with the potatoes so it is good for a hearty breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
We made this as is, except added another egg for 1 1/2 per person. Well, I have to say that I was blown away! Not that this recipe is all that complex, but the idea is so gooooood. Don't know why, it just seemed to sit well with me. Very well! Oh, and make sure to let the potatoes get nice and brown- that seemed to add a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basil Stone

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
My husband loved this recipe...if you don't add any "extras" it's a wonderful low point Weight watchers breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
A good recipe, but it can be made much better by adding chopped cooked bacon, sausage patty or link into the skillet when cooking the eggs. Divide the egg minture into the pitas and top with a little shredded cheese. Much more flavor! For a lower calorie/less fat version, I've also make these with egg substitute and veggie sausage patties or bacon. If I'm out of pita bread, I've used toasted English muffins instead. Very versatile recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
This is a great idea, so easy and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Thanks for the great idea! I added some garlic powder and a few dashes of Tapatio. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Not bad, a little dry. Much improved by topping with chunky salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States