Quick Breakfast in a Pita Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This is really great as it is - sprinkled with a little cheese it was even better :) Definitely will be making this one again. I only used 1 egg and used a whole potato so my ratio of potato was probably a little higher. It's a great grab and go meal that will keep the McGreasy off your hips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This isn't so good. Just a basic scrambled potato-and-egg. No seasoning whatsoever. Made a huge mess in the pan. Temperature too high to warm the pita -- it came out toasted so that it couldn't be filled without cracking open. Had to use the pita as just an accompanying piece of bread, and got out the jar of salsa for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Blandon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Are we sure about the calories? Made it this morning, I used 3 egg whites rather than 2 whole eggs, and added in some tomatoes. If I count the calories all together it ends up being about the right calories... but that's WITHOUT the yolk. Eggs WITH the yolk practically go over the calorie amount listed, without all of the other ingredients. It was still a quick and easy breakfast. May season more next time... but will be making it again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mammalozo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
What an interesting little breakfast, wasn't sure about the bread part.. but it worked just fine..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Great recipe for a "Quick Breakfast"! I made this for my husband to take to work. I added just a touch of milk to the eggs to get them nice and fluffy. I also used the recipe for "Herbie's Home Fries" on this site to add a little pizzaz to "cooked and diced" potatoes. All that was left to do was add some cheddar cheese and ham. This is a great base for whatever add-in's such as cheeses, veggies, or breakfast meats you choose. Definitely a great "on-the-go" breakfast meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This was rather tasty and a good way to use up some of the leftovers. The only problem with the recipe is that it is a bit dry as is, but this is easily solved with some bbq sauce or mayo. Will play around with this some more next time I have leftover potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nelson, Nelson-Marlborough, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This was good as written. I found 2 eggs just right to fill the pita with the combination of suggested potato. So many additions you can do on this according to your tastes. The basic recipe is a great foundation for change or just by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I cook jalapenos, onions, green pepper, tomatoes and fresh garlic with the potatoes, cook chorizo with egg and monterey jack cheese, put the potatoes at the bottom and the egg and cheese mixture on the top. Makes for a spicy breakfast and a quick breakfast if you have those leftover potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
We made this as is, except added another egg for 1 1/2 per person. Well, I have to say that I was blown away! Not that this recipe is all that complex, but the idea is so gooooood. Don't know why, it just seemed to sit well with me. Very well! Oh, and make sure to let the potatoes get nice and brown- that seemed to add a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basil Stone

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Not bad, a little dry. Much improved by topping with chunky salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Turkey Sausage Breakfast

See how to make this savory breakfast casserole.

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States