Quick Breakfast in a Pita Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I cook jalapenos, onions, green pepper, tomatoes and fresh garlic with the potatoes, cook chorizo with egg and monterey jack cheese, put the potatoes at the bottom and the egg and cheese mixture on the top. Makes for a spicy breakfast and a quick breakfast if you have those leftover potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Great recipe for a "Quick Breakfast"! I made this for my husband to take to work. I added just a touch of milk to the eggs to get them nice and fluffy. I also used the recipe for "Herbie's Home Fries" on this site to add a little pizzaz to "cooked and diced" potatoes. All that was left to do was add some cheddar cheese and ham. This is a great base for whatever add-in's such as cheeses, veggies, or breakfast meats you choose. Definitely a great "on-the-go" breakfast meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This was good as written. I found 2 eggs just right to fill the pita with the combination of suggested potato. So many additions you can do on this according to your tastes. The basic recipe is a great foundation for change or just by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
Very good. I cook my potatoes with garlic, onion, and a touch of olive oil. I also add bacon, cheese, and avocado. My husband loves these!! And my two and half year old too!YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
We made this as is, except added another egg for 1 1/2 per person. Well, I have to say that I was blown away! Not that this recipe is all that complex, but the idea is so gooooood. Don't know why, it just seemed to sit well with me. Very well! Oh, and make sure to let the potatoes get nice and brown- that seemed to add a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basil Stone

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
This is a great idea, so easy and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This is really great as it is - sprinkled with a little cheese it was even better :) Definitely will be making this one again. I only used 1 egg and used a whole potato so my ratio of potato was probably a little higher. It's a great grab and go meal that will keep the McGreasy off your hips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
What an interesting little breakfast, wasn't sure about the bread part.. but it worked just fine..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
Yum!!!! Hubby and I both loved this dish- very satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIESCHOLL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Thanks for the great idea! I added some garlic powder and a few dashes of Tapatio. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States