Quick Bread Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
This is a great base recipe. The key is to make sure the cup of fruit or veggies that you add is a puree. I made a batch using one cup of sweet potato and orange juice puree, using just enough oj to get it to blend. Added a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg, too. My boys said they were the best ever. A second batch was made using pureed zuchinni and oj. Added a dash of cinnamon and a handful of chocolate chips. Again, awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I love this recipe. My favorite add ins are 1 tablespoon cinnamon and 1 cup applesauce. I call it Apple pie bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
My favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
I give it 5 stars for the mix itself. I have been using this mix recipe to make muffins for years, however I do not use Helen's actual bread recipe though. Also I did cut down the salt to 3 teaspoons, I have experimented and here are some of my favorites. Zucchini muffins In mixing bowl whisk together 2 eggs,1/2 cup water or milk, 1/4 cup veg or canola oil, 2 teaspoon vanilla,1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, then with a wooden soon stir in 3 cups of mix, then stir in 2 cups grated zucchini, then stir in 1/2 cup chopped walnuts or pecans and 1/2 cup mini choc chips. place in sprayed 12 count muffin tin,they will be very full, bake in preheated 350 degree oven for 22 to 26 minutes depending on your oven, you can make them smaller just adjust the cooking time. For pumpkin muffins just replace the zucchini with 1 cup of canned cooked pumpkin(not pumpkin pie filling) For chocolate chip use 3/4 cup of water or milk and 3/4 cup choc chips and 3/4 c of chopped nuts in place of fruit or vegetable. I find the the liquid amount to add will vary with the type of fruit used. I have also made the mix with 8 cups all purpose flour and 4 cups of wheat flour. Hope these work out for you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Very quick easy bread. One of the better tasting breads I made in a while. I threw in some left over ingredients (pumpkin, walnuts and cranberry) I had and it turned out wonderful.I also topped it off with the 6 flavor sugar glaze found on this site and my family loved it. The bread was good with or without the glaze. I doubt I'll use any other bread recipes again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Stanton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I had my students try this recipe, but to dry, we tried milk and somewhat better but still an issue with the recipe, I don't recommend this recipe to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
VERY dry, the amount on this recipe are way off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I think those who are having trouble with the moisture may not be using vegetable puree, perhaps. I used carrots (cooked and then blended) for the veggie, and added to the mixture a few grapes that were thinking of becoming wine, which made up for the dryness of the dried cranberries also used in my muffins. I would have made bread, but found I did not have the correct size pans. I will try various versions of this one. Since it has white sugar, I do not think it would be suitable for savory muffins, however; I stopped short of trying savory. Good save! (I imagine.) 2nd day note: The muffins (now room temp) seem a bit oily. I think a little less oil would make for a lighter, but still moist muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I love this recipe! I always keep it on hand, but I've found if I add one of those pre-made cups of applesauce to it, or puree a banana and put in the mix when I go to bake it, it comes out much more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arlie Lambert

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I haven't made this - just wanted to thank Helen for the basic mix, it was exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States