Quick Bread Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
All recipes need some altering to suit an individuals taste. A recipe is a base. I am a prof. baker who took Helen's recipe and made it mine with a few changes. You must know your oven and if repeatedly burning a recipe does'nt know their oven! All are different. Change the temp. and heat distr., turn the fan on to distr. the heat around, change pans. I found this recipe so simple and convenient and made money selling them at cafes around. You have to know what makes a muffin moist. Always add some fruit or veg. like banana, carrot, zucchini, and an extra egg. This ensures moist muffins, which I found this recipe worked best for. You need to start with a high temp (200 C) and then lower after 7 minutes to 175c. This is imp. for getting a peak in the center and also aids in allowing the center to cook. The lowering heat will ensure it doesn't burn. This is just advice that I aquired from lots of research and trial and error. It takes practice to be a master with baking. As much experience as I have I have also blundered. I've gone back after a few years to a recipe I had no success with and had excellent results because I have more knowledge of kitchen science. Good luck, and thanks Helen for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bina E.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2000
Recipe was great, except it appears to be missing 1 cup of MILK! Batter was like wallpaper paste until I added the milk with the eggs and oil. Baked up perfect and was quick, easy and cheap compared to prepakaged mixes or starting from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
This is a GREAT recipe. I have made banana bread and pear pecan bread. I too had to add some milk but the amount was dependent on how moist the add-ins were. I used a mixture of pears, brown sugar and nuts. I mixed them together and then pureed the mixture before adding to the dry ingredients. I did not have to add any milk to this batch but I did have to add some to the banana bread. Also, my kids have made chocolate chip muffins. This recipe is definitely going into my recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2001
I recently made this mix to give for Christmas gifts to coworkers. I packaged up one batch for each person with two muffins - one batch made with pumpkin and pecans and one batch made with bananas and walnuts. It was a big hit. My son, husband and I also enjoyed the rest of the muffins. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2001
Without trying to sound boastfull I'm a really good cook and baker; but this was the worst thing I've ever baked and tried to eat. I will never make this again!! As my three kids put it YUCK!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2000
I only wanted one loaf of bread, so I had to do the division to break down this recipe. But it's good to know the bulk measurements too. The bread was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2001
This is a wonderful time-saver. I substituted fresh ground whole wheat, reduced the oil and added more vegetable or fruit. I also added a scoop of soy powder for more protein. It is delicious and easy and nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2000
My family, along with everyone else who has tried the loaves from this recipe love it. I like it because I have stocked up on muffins and loaves for preschool and work lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2000
This makes a really soft and wonderful loaf of bread. I made it yesterday and it is gone. I, too, had to add milk to the recipe but I only needed 1/2 cup. This recipe is definitely a "keeper"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2000
This is just what I was looking for, I make alot of muffins and this was great to have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States