Quick Bread Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
i followed the directions exactly, i always do. the bread didnt cook in the middle but the outside burned. when this happened i went back over the recipe i didnt miss a step. my oven cooks everything else fine, so i tried it again. same thing happened. i wont try it again. very dissapointing since its hard to find bread recipies w/o using a machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
The recipe was crumbly. I added a cup of apples and it was way too dry so I had to add more liquid. It might work better with something like pumpkin or bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
I made this bread for the second time and it burned extremely bad. the first time I just added liquid and it turned out great so I don't know what happened
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
I enjoyed this recipe. I wanted something easy to make using the ingredients I had onhand. I used whole wheat flour and Splenda and I added diced apples as my fruit. I made it in muffin tins, which was really quick. I will make this again. (I had never used diced apples in a bread before and it was excellent.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
WOW - I'm just starting to learn to make bread and this was WONDERFUL. Moist and flavorful and I just about ate the entire loaf myself! I used about 1 & 1/2 Cups of Sarah's applesause (from this web-site) - 1 as the recipe called for and then the extra 1/2 Cup in place of the oil as some others suggested. That may have been too much because it took FOREVER to bake all the way through (maybe I'll make mini-loaves next time), but my-oh-my so worth the effort of making your own applesause (which I loved and really isn't much effort at all) and making your own applesause bread (which isn't much effort at all either). I will be making this recipe over and over and over again, just mixing up which flavor I use. Can't wait to try banana and carrot! If I had more than 2 thumbs, they'd all be raised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
Loved this recipe!! Great to use when you want to clean out your pantry! I've made a carrot bread and a lemon/orange/strawberry/rhubarb bread. Allows you to get really creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
This is a GREAT recipe. I have made banana bread and pear pecan bread. I too had to add some milk but the amount was dependent on how moist the add-ins were. I used a mixture of pears, brown sugar and nuts. I mixed them together and then pureed the mixture before adding to the dry ingredients. I did not have to add any milk to this batch but I did have to add some to the banana bread. Also, my kids have made chocolate chip muffins. This recipe is definitely going into my recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2001
I make alot of breads for gifts at the holidays and this one will save alot of time. I tried it for Blueberry muffins too and they were great, almost cake-like. And like the others, I added some milk to the mixture before adding it to the quick bread mix, as I knew that it would be too thick. These will be the easiest breads that I'll have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2001
Without trying to sound boastfull I'm a really good cook and baker; but this was the worst thing I've ever baked and tried to eat. I will never make this again!! As my three kids put it YUCK!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2001
This is a wonderful time-saver. I substituted fresh ground whole wheat, reduced the oil and added more vegetable or fruit. I also added a scoop of soy powder for more protein. It is delicious and easy and nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States