Quick Bread Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This recipe rocks. Honestly, I just winged it.... had some leftover crushed pineapple, threw it in with the mix and VOILA! I'm so excited, because I hate wasting food, and I routinely throw away icky bananas because I don't want to bother putting together a recipe of banana bread. Now it will be a cinch. (sp?) Go with your gut on how much liquid to add; I didn't add any milk because the juice that came along with the crushed pineapple seemed to be enough. Can't wait to experiment with unique quick breads! Thanks so much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
very good and quick recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Yummy bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edwin H. Kluge Jr.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I scaled down the recipe since there were so many mixed reviews. I added about 3/4 to 1 cup of milk a little at a time till I got the right consitancy and it came out perfect. One of the best banana breads I've ever made. It was light, moist and flavorful. This is a great base recipe and I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
MMMMMM...this is now my go to recipe. I halved the reciipe and made 2 loaves last night. I followed the recipe and added 1/2 cup milk and 1/2 cup water then sprinkled sugar on top before putting it in the oven. I didnt add anything else to it- no fruit or anything- and it was delish!! They didnt last long! I just made the rest of the mix but this time i grated some carrots, added some cinnamon and ground cloves and just used water and used muffin tins and again they are soooo good. I know im going to have to go make some more. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I didn't care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Horrible! Do not bother with trying to figure out what they they did. Try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I absolutely love this bread mix. I lost the recipe for 6 months or so and have just found it again. I make it with pureed squash and pumpkin pie spice. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
As some other reviewers have said, this does need up to a cup of additional liquid to work right (milk, water, applesauce, etc). Unless the original submitter is using fruit/vegetable JUICE, I don't see how they could possibly get workable dough without adding more liquid than this calls for. However, once that's added in, it's a great recipe. I'd give it 4-5 if not for that omission. My husband said it was a bit salty for him, so I might scale that back when I make this again, but it's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
All recipes need some altering to suit an individuals taste. A recipe is a base. I am a prof. baker who took Helen's recipe and made it mine with a few changes. You must know your oven and if repeatedly burning a recipe does'nt know their oven! All are different. Change the temp. and heat distr., turn the fan on to distr. the heat around, change pans. I found this recipe so simple and convenient and made money selling them at cafes around. You have to know what makes a muffin moist. Always add some fruit or veg. like banana, carrot, zucchini, and an extra egg. This ensures moist muffins, which I found this recipe worked best for. You need to start with a high temp (200 C) and then lower after 7 minutes to 175c. This is imp. for getting a peak in the center and also aids in allowing the center to cook. The lowering heat will ensure it doesn't burn. This is just advice that I aquired from lots of research and trial and error. It takes practice to be a master with baking. As much experience as I have I have also blundered. I've gone back after a few years to a recipe I had no success with and had excellent results because I have more knowledge of kitchen science. Good luck, and thanks Helen for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bina E.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States