Quick Bread Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I make this and keep it for making muffins adding whatever fruit, chips, nuts, etc. that i feel like having at the time. I did use half wheat flour and splenda blend for sugar. Husband and grandkids can't even tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I really like this recipe. I love having all of my dry ingredients combined and ready to go. I used 3 cups of this mix 3 eggs 1/4 cup oil 1 cup applesauce 2 cups shredded apples (about 4-5 small apples) and sprinkled in some cinnamon This batter made 2 loaves of a bread that came out sweet, moist and delicious. I'll definitely make it again. I may add a little brown sugar next time (not that it needed it)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Birchfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This is a very good and economic way to save money and have a good homemade quick bread. When I first started making the mix only, I got frustrated because it is very difficult to get 12 cups of flour, and 6 cups of sugar, along with evrything else, into a large enough container to hold, let alone mix together. Trial and error, next time I will be prepared for the amounts with a container large enough. But aside from being covered with flour, I took my 3 cups aside and proceeded with making my bread. I added 1 cup of milk, used butter shortening instead of oil, 2tsp of vanilla flavorings, and 1 4oz cup of applesauce with my bananas and eggs. The bread turned out great!!!! It didnt even stay long after it cooled. I did use a 9 inch pan, and baked for about 50 minutes. So It only gets 4 stars because of the difficult prep mix time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This base mix is great! I put tomatoes and cheese into the mix for dinner muffins and for that mixture was a little sweet. But with bananas and chocolate chips the next morning it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I might be wrong but if you look at the bakers % for this recipe there is only 9% liquid to 100% dry product. Most Quick bread recipes have at least 80% liquid. There might be something missing, but i had to add more eggs, oil, and not in the recipe i added sour cream, and buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I didn't have any fruit or nuts or such. All I added was Green Herbs (dried herbs) mixture of: Parsley, Cilantro, Thyme, & Celery Leaves. It was a really neat the flavor was refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Great idea! I substituted 4 cups of whole wheat flour and 2 cups of oat flour instead of all white flour. I used applesauce and orange juice concentrate for the fruit and cinnamon. It was delicious. Next time I will try almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I was looking for nothing in particular when i found this recipe. I needed to have multiple loaves of bread when I found it and figured why not? So far I have made the standard banana, zucchini, and pumpkin. And am looking forward to trying apples and what ever else I can dream up. I read all of the reviews and knew that I had to add my own. I haven't had to add any additional liquids and the batter mixes up very nicely. And when complete, it almost falls out of the pan. BRAVO!! This is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Greenfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This tasted like cornbread. I didn't really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Killingworth, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This bread mix was very delicious when baked and eaten directly out of the oven but turned dry very quickly. I'll have to follow some of the others advice on how to moisten it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Chef John's Irish Soda Bread

Classic recipe for an Irish quick bread.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States