Quick Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I cook for my self. I also ate it all myself.I need to make another soon. The mix was a little dry after I added a package of chocolate pudding.1/4 cup milk and 1/4 cup olive oil took care of that. It could even use more cherries. Still a great cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larry lindstrom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
My daughter-in-law loved the cake,I made it for her Birthday she really liked it alot..Very easy to make as well..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This was an interesting cake. The texture was surprising. It baked up looking like a brownie, but it tasted like a very moist almost custard like cake. The cherry flavor was great, but I was wishng it was even stronger. I gave it 4 stars because of the use of the mix, but I have to admit, everyone lapped it up. I did follow the advise of others who made the mix as directed and then added the cherries and chocolate chips. Served it with whip cream and a cherry. It looked pretty special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Really good and really simple. You get the same black forest taste without a complicated recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I made this cake last night for a birthday dinner party and it was fabulous. The only thing I can say is that I probably won't use as many chocolate chips in the cake next time because it was super chocolatey-rich but otherwise a fabulous, delicious and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dcasuccio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrackville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I've made a similar version of this cake for years, and add 1 small box of instant chocolate pudding in addition to the box of chocolate cake mix with pudding in it, and 1/4 cup of vegetable oil which makes it a pudding cake so dense you need to refrigerate it to keep the cherries from getting rancid. You can, also add some almond extract to the glaze for additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Honda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
A huge huge disappointment. After reading all the reviews, I expected so much more. No one in my family liked this and we are all chocolate lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I followed the directions, but made them into heart cupcakes for Valentines. These were very easy to make and they were very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by heidihh1
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This cake was delicious, made it for my husband's birthday and he said it was the best cake so far. I did tweak this a bit and did an experiment however. I bought 2 tiny bottles of rum. I added one bottle to the batter, and half of the other to the glaze. So.. mine was more of a Rum/Black Forest cake.. I highly recommend the addition of rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidihh1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I have made this cake so many times. Everyone loves it and thinks it is so gourmet when we know how easy it is - works for me!! Great Valentines cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dining Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States