Quick Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Really good and really simple. You get the same black forest taste without a complicated recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I made this cake last night for a birthday dinner party and it was fabulous. The only thing I can say is that I probably won't use as many chocolate chips in the cake next time because it was super chocolatey-rich but otherwise a fabulous, delicious and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dcasuccio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barrackville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I've made a similar version of this cake for years, and add 1 small box of instant chocolate pudding in addition to the box of chocolate cake mix with pudding in it, and 1/4 cup of vegetable oil which makes it a pudding cake so dense you need to refrigerate it to keep the cherries from getting rancid. You can, also add some almond extract to the glaze for additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Honda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
A huge huge disappointment. After reading all the reviews, I expected so much more. No one in my family liked this and we are all chocolate lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I followed the directions, but made them into heart cupcakes for Valentines. These were very easy to make and they were very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by heidihh1
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This cake was delicious, made it for my husband's birthday and he said it was the best cake so far. I did tweak this a bit and did an experiment however. I bought 2 tiny bottles of rum. I added one bottle to the batter, and half of the other to the glaze. So.. mine was more of a Rum/Black Forest cake.. I highly recommend the addition of rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidihh1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I have made this cake so many times. Everyone loves it and thinks it is so gourmet when we know how easy it is - works for me!! Great Valentines cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dining Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Fabulous! Super-rich, though...must serve it with real whipped cream for the full effect. I just made the cake without the icing and it's SOOOO good! Also, I only used 2 eggs, and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This was wonderful. Unlike the previous reviewer, this is not meant to be an authentic german cake. This is meant to be a quick and easy recipe. Which it is. And very, very good. I made it as written except I skipped the chocolate chips added to the mix (just to reduce the fat/calories a little). We will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I made this cake as suggested in earlier reviews by following the directions on the cake box, adding all the extras next and then baking. Made it in a bundt pan the day before eating. Served with real whipped cream...heavenly. It was quick, good and still impressive even if not authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States