Quick Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
i made this for a friend's parent's anniversary and it was a big hit. i have already been asked for more. the glaze was a little thick but i think that will change once i get the hang of making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
awesome,don't bake as long as it says
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaycee, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Worland, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
LOVED it. did it exactly how they said. not too sweet like some of the reviews said, and the perfect amount of cherry flavor. It was even better with fresh unsweet whipped cream on top. REALLY good for so low in fat. One of my favorite new cake recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sdudley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
AWESOME! Instead of cake mix I used the Dark Chocolate Cake I recipe. I also made the cherry pie filling from scratch the night before. I only added 1 c. chocolate chips so they'd be more hidden. I made cupcakes and topped with a little pile of the cherry pie filling and drizzled chocolate over them. I now have a reputation as an "amazing cook". Thank you!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by The Cook He Kisses
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
This was my first attempt at any type of Black Forest Cake and I will certainly be making it again! I followed another reviewers advice and added an extra Tablespoon of milk and butter to the glaze but I would skip that next time because I felt it was too thin. I also decreased the almond extract to 2 tsp. based on other reviews. -I baked it in a Bundt pan and it came out looking great. My father in law and husband even asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Cook He Kisses

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Nobody was impressed by this cake. The almond flavour was SO overpowering! It's all we could smell and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This is an excellent cake for a modified box mix. It is easy to make, moist, and full of cherry and chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beara
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This cake was the BEST I have ever had. I used to love German Chocolate, but this is my new FAV!!! Not only was it so easy to make and sooooooo sooooooo delish, but it looked like it was professionally made! I was almost shocked that I made it! THANKS so much for making me look impressive to all my friends! :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I'll jump on this band wagon! This cake is great! I did however use the oil and half of the water the cake mix called for because the batter was SO thick. I also skipped the chocolate chips in the cake. Turned out fabulous and moist. Doesn't even need frosting! I made it into cupcakes, took about 24 minutes at 350. Filled the cupcake pans pretty full. Will serve with real whipped cream for a birthday party tonight. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie-Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I don't know what I did wrong but this was a disaster. FORTUNATELY, the birthday girl loved it but everyone else scrapped theirs into the trash. It was heavy, dense, overly sweet... I'm tempted to try again though as there are just too many positive reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States