Quick Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I tried this recipe on Christmas Eve (which was a risky little move!) but it fantastic. I didn't have almond extract so I added a tablespoon of vanilla extract instead. The batter seemed a little dry so I was particularly wary but it was fantastic. I baked the cake in a bundt pan and decorated it with cherries and whipped cream. I think I'll use the glaze recipe on other cakes too! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
WOW! Yum! This cake is delicious & moist. I had black cherries that I had picked, pitted & froze myself, so I used those after thawing. I added 1/3 cup oil. I used the mini chocolate chips. I used 2 round cake pans & baked for 45 min. They were perfect. I also made the glaze but added more confectioner sugar to make it more firm. It was hard to spread & not pretty but tastes like fudge spread on it. Sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Thank You! This is the absolutely BEST chocolate cake I have ever made, and it was one of the easiest! It was very moist, had great flavor and everyone loved the chocolate chips. I did not use the topping listed, I used home made whipped cream...YUMMY! Port wine really is the perfect wine to have with this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Very moist cake. I also was not able to find a cake mix w/ pudding - I used Duncan Hines Supermoist Devil's Food cake and followed the rest of the recipe as written as written above. I made as a bundt cake and cooked for 60 minutes. I got several compliments - thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Pine
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This is one of the best cakes I have ever made! I make it time and time again and it has always been a success at parties. The cake disappears fast – there are never any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This is a delicious cake and easy to make I make this whenever I give a treat to someone because it is fast, easy and delicious! But one precaution make sure you really whisk the icing. If you don't it results in a chunky icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by saynay18
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This recipe was really a hit with everyone at our Oktoberfest party. I baked the cake in two nine inch rounds, and split another can of cherries between the two layers and the top of the cake for a beautiful presentation. I skipped the glaze, although had I made this bundt style, I definitely would have made it! Great, easy recipe. Love the chocolate chips in the batter! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beth M
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This is so easy and it looks and tastes like it took all day to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
This cake used to get me out of trouble at work! I would screw up in the morning, bake it at lunch and have it ready for afternoon. You can make it in a 9" x 13" with no problem and recently, we have had great success making it into cupcakes. Makes 18 very large cupcakes, which freeze really well. Ice them with whipped cream and chocolate shavings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Love this recipe! I do bake it in a bundt pan for about 55 min. and when I'm in a hurry, just sift powder sugar over the top of it, instead of making the glaze- gorgeous, easy to make, and everyone raves!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States