Quick Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
OMG, this cake is out of this world!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JURADO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, California, USA
Living In: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I made this for my mother-in-law's birthday and everyone enjoyed it. I frosted it with chocolate fudge frosting from the store, and I reserved a cup of the cherries to put on top, then put puffs of whipped cream around it. It looked pretty and tasted good, too. I did mix the cake according to directions on the box before adding the cherries and almond extract (which I reduced to one teaspoon). Thanks for the recipe; it's an easy semi-homemade cake that seems really special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
OMG.....This cake was delicious!!! My husband (and I) just loved it and ate it ALL!! Very easy to make. I used a Bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Easy and delicious. I did not add the almond extract and people liked the less "cherry" flavor that resulted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Excellent! I made it in a bundt pan instead of the 13 x 9 pan. Makes for a prettier cake! The entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I made this into cupcakes and topped with the glaze, whipped cream and a cherry. Tons of compliments on how it looked, zero on how it tasted. I wasn't thrilled with the taste. The cake is very dense and doesn't rise much. I think maybe I'd prepare the cake mix as per the directions then add the cherries in so it is fluffy and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
The recipe was a little vague, but I wound up with a 5 star cake for my daughter's 2nd birthday party. I made a huge layer cake- 2 9X13 cakes. In each cake I used 1 devils's food mix (dry mix plus I added 1/2 cup oil and 1 cup water from box directions) ,3 eggs, 1 pouch non-instant pudding (not prepared), 1 can cherries, reduced to 1/2 cup MINI choc chips, reduced to half tbs almond extract. I used 1 box of instant pudding (prepared) for the filling between the layers. I made all this the night before and layered, wrapped in plastic wrap and refrigerated. I did not use the choc glaze. I used whipping cream and some conf sugar with dash of vanilla for topping. I put the rest of the bag of mini choc chips up the sides of the cakes. I used some reserved cherries for garnish. Next time I will get about 12 fresh cherries for garnish instead. This was SOOO good and almost every guest took home seconds. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiesmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Besides being quick, it is easy! I took this to a church potluck (the ultimate evaluator), and it was well received--delicious, moist, yet held together very well. The pie filling I used was "no sugar added" and it still turned out well. I baked it in a bundt pan; I feel it is prettier that way. You could use other icings, but this one is easy and goes well with the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Steelville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Charleston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lyda
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Just made this cake for my husband's birthday and it turned out great. I made the cake almost to the recipe but made only minor changes. Instead of regular chocolate chips which some people on here said didn't work out so well, I used mini chocolate chips and it was perfect. I also saw on another recipe the use of Black Cherry Soda in the cake so I added about 6oz of Thomas Kemper Black Cherry Soda to the mix. I also used a chocolate frosting recipe I got from America's Test Kitchen and then decorated it with chocolate covered cherries. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I followed the recipe to a t. I am not impressed. The chocolate chips are not necessary. I will have to do this recipe again since there were so many good reviews. I had to read the recipe 10 x to see if something was wrong. Are you supposed to make the recipe on the box of cake mix first then add everything else. It is unclear. I didn't do that, which seemed weird. Because in the cake mix recipe, you are supposed to add milk or water. It seemed far too dense. And, honestly chips were too hard. So something must be wrong. I wish it would say, make mix according to directions on box. I think that is what to do. Very confusing and I wasted alot of money here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States