Quick Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Easy and delicious. I did not add the almond extract and people liked the less "cherry" flavor that resulted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Excellent! I made it in a bundt pan instead of the 13 x 9 pan. Makes for a prettier cake! The entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I made this into cupcakes and topped with the glaze, whipped cream and a cherry. Tons of compliments on how it looked, zero on how it tasted. I wasn't thrilled with the taste. The cake is very dense and doesn't rise much. I think maybe I'd prepare the cake mix as per the directions then add the cherries in so it is fluffy and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
The recipe was a little vague, but I wound up with a 5 star cake for my daughter's 2nd birthday party. I made a huge layer cake- 2 9X13 cakes. In each cake I used 1 devils's food mix (dry mix plus I added 1/2 cup oil and 1 cup water from box directions) ,3 eggs, 1 pouch non-instant pudding (not prepared), 1 can cherries, reduced to 1/2 cup MINI choc chips, reduced to half tbs almond extract. I used 1 box of instant pudding (prepared) for the filling between the layers. I made all this the night before and layered, wrapped in plastic wrap and refrigerated. I did not use the choc glaze. I used whipping cream and some conf sugar with dash of vanilla for topping. I put the rest of the bag of mini choc chips up the sides of the cakes. I used some reserved cherries for garnish. Next time I will get about 12 fresh cherries for garnish instead. This was SOOO good and almost every guest took home seconds. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiesmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Besides being quick, it is easy! I took this to a church potluck (the ultimate evaluator), and it was well received--delicious, moist, yet held together very well. The pie filling I used was "no sugar added" and it still turned out well. I baked it in a bundt pan; I feel it is prettier that way. You could use other icings, but this one is easy and goes well with the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Steelville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Charleston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lyda
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Just made this cake for my husband's birthday and it turned out great. I made the cake almost to the recipe but made only minor changes. Instead of regular chocolate chips which some people on here said didn't work out so well, I used mini chocolate chips and it was perfect. I also saw on another recipe the use of Black Cherry Soda in the cake so I added about 6oz of Thomas Kemper Black Cherry Soda to the mix. I also used a chocolate frosting recipe I got from America's Test Kitchen and then decorated it with chocolate covered cherries. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I followed the recipe to a t. I am not impressed. The chocolate chips are not necessary. I will have to do this recipe again since there were so many good reviews. I had to read the recipe 10 x to see if something was wrong. Are you supposed to make the recipe on the box of cake mix first then add everything else. It is unclear. I didn't do that, which seemed weird. Because in the cake mix recipe, you are supposed to add milk or water. It seemed far too dense. And, honestly chips were too hard. So something must be wrong. I wish it would say, make mix according to directions on box. I think that is what to do. Very confusing and I wasted alot of money here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I tried this recipe on Christmas Eve (which was a risky little move!) but it fantastic. I didn't have almond extract so I added a tablespoon of vanilla extract instead. The batter seemed a little dry so I was particularly wary but it was fantastic. I baked the cake in a bundt pan and decorated it with cherries and whipped cream. I think I'll use the glaze recipe on other cakes too! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
WOW! Yum! This cake is delicious & moist. I had black cherries that I had picked, pitted & froze myself, so I used those after thawing. I added 1/3 cup oil. I used the mini chocolate chips. I used 2 round cake pans & baked for 45 min. They were perfect. I also made the glaze but added more confectioner sugar to make it more firm. It was hard to spread & not pretty but tastes like fudge spread on it. Sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Thank You! This is the absolutely BEST chocolate cake I have ever made, and it was one of the easiest! It was very moist, had great flavor and everyone loved the chocolate chips. I did not use the topping listed, I used home made whipped cream...YUMMY! Port wine really is the perfect wine to have with this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States