Quick Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Made this today and it is a winner! Followed the directions exactly and it turned out great. Next time going to try a lemon cake with lemon pie filling. I bet it turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This is my go-to cake recipe anytime I need to make one for my mom (she loves chocolate and cherries). I have made it a few times; however, I only just noticed the time before last the size of the cake mix. My grocery store does not have 18.25oz cake mixes in devil's food. So what I did this weekend was buy the regular 15.25oz without pudding in the mix. I also bought a 3.9oz instant chocolate pudding mix and used most of that to get close to 18.25oz. This resulted in a super moist cake! Like many others, I also use mini chocolate chips. Until this weekend I would make the glaze but eventually I realized it was too sweet, so I made the Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting from this site. It was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I read the reviews AFTER I put it in the pan, but decided to go with the original recipe anyway. I am so GLAD I DID! I did NOT add oil and water--maybe why it was dry to some was that it was overbaked. I checked it in about 30 minutes and it was puffy and done. I just used a regular devils food cake mix (no pudding) and served it with whipped topping--it was delicious!! I will be making this cake often! Its a WINNER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elinor Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I had to make a cake for a co-worker and this was great!! Everyone loved it and I thought it was very easy to make. I didn't have time for the glaze so I frosted it. Very easy and quick wonderful cake & I usually have everything on hand!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msclaus24.7
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This cake was very chocolatey, dense, and easy. Perfect for my chocoholic sis-in-law's bday. I did not have canned cherry pie filling but I had canned sweet cherries so I made pie filling in a saucepan with some of the juice mixed with cornstarch, sugar, a little lemon juice, and almond extract. I also used mini chocolate chips instead of regular size as suggested by a reader. The cake is a bit on the dry side when served (serve with whipped cream or ice cream) but the few pieces left over were quite dry the next day. I would like to find a way to make it even more moist (was thinking of soaking in cherry brandy) but it was not overly dry that I would not recommend. I think stemmed, hand-dipped dark chocolate covered cherries would make the best decoration (as a last minute thought I picked up a box of regular chocolate covered cherries from the grocery store).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I have made this a few times already and everyone loved it! I get a lot of requests for this cake. I do mix the cake according to package directions (with oil and water). I bake them in mini bundt pans and top each one with melted chocolate and fresh whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Used a dark chocolate cake mix and can of dark cherry pie filling. Most amazing! Baked in a bundt pan for 50-55 minutes and just sprinkled with powdered sugar, didn't feel it needed the glaze to take it over the top! Very good and easy to make, will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
husband gives it a 9 or 9.5, a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Mitchell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Great cake - really moist and super easy to make. I changed up the glaze (added a little cherry liquer and reduced the milk). It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Made as directed, but put in a bundt pan dusted with cocoa powder & decreased almond to 2 teaspoons. My daughter recquested it for her 11th birthday, she loved it! I am not a fan of black forest cake and I thought it was delicious! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States