Quick Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Fabulous! Super-rich, though...must serve it with real whipped cream for the full effect. I just made the cake without the icing and it's SOOOO good! Also, I only used 2 eggs, and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This was wonderful. Unlike the previous reviewer, this is not meant to be an authentic german cake. This is meant to be a quick and easy recipe. Which it is. And very, very good. I made it as written except I skipped the chocolate chips added to the mix (just to reduce the fat/calories a little). We will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I made this cake as suggested in earlier reviews by following the directions on the cake box, adding all the extras next and then baking. Made it in a bundt pan the day before eating. Served with real whipped cream...heavenly. It was quick, good and still impressive even if not authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I LOVE black forest cake. I was looking for a quick recipe using the ingredients I had; this one is a total winner! Like many other reviewers, I made the box cake as directed, adding the pie filling and choc chips at the end. It was deliciously moist. I forgot to add the almond, and even though it didn't "need" anything extra, I will use it next time. I made mine in a bundt pan (I almost always use it instead of a sheet cake).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catastrophiccook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe! I've been making it now for several years, and it always comes out great. This is the most requested cake at family gatherings. Also, when it's done in a bundt pan, it travels really well! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Excellent cake!!! We had a devil food recipe w/o the pudding so we added a small box of instant pudding. It made the cake very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Mina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: El Paso, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Very yummy! I would recommend getting a second can of pie filling to serve as a topping per slice with the whipped cream. Do not leave out the almond extract - adds a nice dimension.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcie Killian Connally

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
My husband was eating it out of the pan before I even got the glaze made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This cake was so easy to make but sooooo delicious. I added 1/2 cup of oil to the mix. I will be making this cake in the future that's for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Excellent cake. I was worried about it at first because it came out of the oven a little lumpy and hadn't risen much. The good thing about it baking flat is that if you bake it in round pans for a layer cake, you won't have to cut the tops off to even them off. I baked 2 9" rounds for 35 min. I added a package of 5.9 oz chocolate pudding because my cake mix didn't come with pudding. I used Mini semi-sweet chips and added some simple syryp to keep the cake moist before frosting. I then used the Chocalate Butter-Creme recipe to frost the middle, top and sides, and then Rick's Special Buttercream recipe for some white icing that I piped along the edges of the top to keep in a resevoir of cherry pie filling that I placed on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 91-100 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States