Quick Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This was wonderful. Unlike the previous reviewer, this is not meant to be an authentic german cake. This is meant to be a quick and easy recipe. Which it is. And very, very good. I made it as written except I skipped the chocolate chips added to the mix (just to reduce the fat/calories a little). We will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I made this cake as suggested in earlier reviews by following the directions on the cake box, adding all the extras next and then baking. Made it in a bundt pan the day before eating. Served with real whipped cream...heavenly. It was quick, good and still impressive even if not authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I LOVE black forest cake. I was looking for a quick recipe using the ingredients I had; this one is a total winner! Like many other reviewers, I made the box cake as directed, adding the pie filling and choc chips at the end. It was deliciously moist. I forgot to add the almond, and even though it didn't "need" anything extra, I will use it next time. I made mine in a bundt pan (I almost always use it instead of a sheet cake).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catastrophiccook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe! I've been making it now for several years, and it always comes out great. This is the most requested cake at family gatherings. Also, when it's done in a bundt pan, it travels really well! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Excellent cake!!! We had a devil food recipe w/o the pudding so we added a small box of instant pudding. It made the cake very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Mina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: El Paso, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Very yummy! I would recommend getting a second can of pie filling to serve as a topping per slice with the whipped cream. Do not leave out the almond extract - adds a nice dimension.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcie Killian Connally

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
My husband was eating it out of the pan before I even got the glaze made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This cake was so easy to make but sooooo delicious. I added 1/2 cup of oil to the mix. I will be making this cake in the future that's for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Excellent cake. I was worried about it at first because it came out of the oven a little lumpy and hadn't risen much. The good thing about it baking flat is that if you bake it in round pans for a layer cake, you won't have to cut the tops off to even them off. I baked 2 9" rounds for 35 min. I added a package of 5.9 oz chocolate pudding because my cake mix didn't come with pudding. I used Mini semi-sweet chips and added some simple syryp to keep the cake moist before frosting. I then used the Chocalate Butter-Creme recipe to frost the middle, top and sides, and then Rick's Special Buttercream recipe for some white icing that I piped along the edges of the top to keep in a resevoir of cherry pie filling that I placed on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Great cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yo.mags

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States