Quick Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Terrific! I added oil per box recipe and stirred I small jar of marachino cherries (drained) into final mix. Served with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I used thawed pitted cherries instead of the pie filling - used the cherries plus the juice. based on the other reviews, I cut the almond extract to 1 tsp. and omitted the chocolate chips. I also didn't make the glaze and topped with either Cool Whip or ice cream. We both liked very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DoughGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
This is a terrific recipe. Love starting with a mix. So easy. Here is my variation. I use a bundt pan. Made a glaze starting with Duncan Hines dark chocolate icing, added two capfuls of cherry liqueur and microwaved for one minute. I poured over the cake and let it set for about 20 minutes. Then I topped with a squirt of whipped topping and and a cheery on each section of the cake. Everyone at the office just loved it. Super moist and I'm not a fan of dark chocolate, but I tried a little piece and it was yum yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DoughGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
DELICIOUS cake! Very moist and flavorful. I think it definitely would make a spectacular bundt cake (as shown in MANY of the pictures) instead of a 9x13 (as listed in the directions). I came very close to burning the cake and took it out of the oven at 40 minutes. (I wonder if the time listed was actually meant for a bundt cake?) I definitely will make again. The frosting (actually more of a glaze) was delicious, too. Might double the recipe next time if using a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This recipe would be a five star but I always have trouble getting the glaze to turn out. After fixing it several times as written my favorite variation is to make it a bundt cake and use the satiny chocolate glaze recipe by Ginger. I've also fixed it in a casserole dish and topped it with more cherry pie filling and whip creme. It's wonderfully decadent that way! Either way it's an easy cake to make and receives wonderful compliments. My very picky aunt even asked for the recipe! Note--if you need to make this gluten free I've tried this recipe with the Betty Crocker Devil's Food gluten free mix and it turned out great. No one knew the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Wonderful flavor and very easy to make, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
TWO WORDS - A - MAZING! I made this for my son's 16th birthday and everyone was fighting over it. BTW - I glazed it and served it warm...SOOOO yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera!
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I have made this many, many times with ALWAYS excellent results and usually in a bundt pan. I too, have passed on the recipe as it's always asked for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Made this today and it is a winner! Followed the directions exactly and it turned out great. Next time going to try a lemon cake with lemon pie filling. I bet it turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This is my go-to cake recipe anytime I need to make one for my mom (she loves chocolate and cherries). I have made it a few times; however, I only just noticed the time before last the size of the cake mix. My grocery store does not have 18.25oz cake mixes in devil's food. So what I did this weekend was buy the regular 15.25oz without pudding in the mix. I also bought a 3.9oz instant chocolate pudding mix and used most of that to get close to 18.25oz. This resulted in a super moist cake! Like many others, I also use mini chocolate chips. Until this weekend I would make the glaze but eventually I realized it was too sweet, so I made the Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting from this site. It was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States