Quick Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This recipe would be a five star but I always have trouble getting the glaze to turn out. After fixing it several times as written my favorite variation is to make it a bundt cake and use the satiny chocolate glaze recipe by Ginger. I've also fixed it in a casserole dish and topped it with more cherry pie filling and whip creme. It's wonderfully decadent that way! Either way it's an easy cake to make and receives wonderful compliments. My very picky aunt even asked for the recipe! Note--if you need to make this gluten free I've tried this recipe with the Betty Crocker Devil's Food gluten free mix and it turned out great. No one knew the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Wonderful flavor and very easy to make, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
TWO WORDS - A - MAZING! I made this for my son's 16th birthday and everyone was fighting over it. BTW - I glazed it and served it warm...SOOOO yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tera!
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
I have made this many, many times with ALWAYS excellent results and usually in a bundt pan. I too, have passed on the recipe as it's always asked for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
This is a wonderful cake. I made it for my daughter-in-law birthday and it was a big hit. I was out of almond so I used vanilla. With a scoop of ice cream everyone enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Made this today and it is a winner! Followed the directions exactly and it turned out great. Next time going to try a lemon cake with lemon pie filling. I bet it turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This is my go-to cake recipe anytime I need to make one for my mom (she loves chocolate and cherries). I have made it a few times; however, I only just noticed the time before last the size of the cake mix. My grocery store does not have 18.25oz cake mixes in devil's food. So what I did this weekend was buy the regular 15.25oz without pudding in the mix. I also bought a 3.9oz instant chocolate pudding mix and used most of that to get close to 18.25oz. This resulted in a super moist cake! Like many others, I also use mini chocolate chips. Until this weekend I would make the glaze but eventually I realized it was too sweet, so I made the Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting from this site. It was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I read the reviews AFTER I put it in the pan, but decided to go with the original recipe anyway. I am so GLAD I DID! I did NOT add oil and water--maybe why it was dry to some was that it was overbaked. I checked it in about 30 minutes and it was puffy and done. I just used a regular devils food cake mix (no pudding) and served it with whipped topping--it was delicious!! I will be making this cake often! Its a WINNER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinorcleo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I had to make a cake for a co-worker and this was great!! Everyone loved it and I thought it was very easy to make. I didn't have time for the glaze so I frosted it. Very easy and quick wonderful cake & I usually have everything on hand!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by msclaus24.7
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This cake was very chocolatey, dense, and easy. Perfect for my chocoholic sis-in-law's bday. I did not have canned cherry pie filling but I had canned sweet cherries so I made pie filling in a saucepan with some of the juice mixed with cornstarch, sugar, a little lemon juice, and almond extract. I also used mini chocolate chips instead of regular size as suggested by a reader. The cake is a bit on the dry side when served (serve with whipped cream or ice cream) but the few pieces left over were quite dry the next day. I would like to find a way to make it even more moist (was thinking of soaking in cherry brandy) but it was not overly dry that I would not recommend. I think stemmed, hand-dipped dark chocolate covered cherries would make the best decoration (as a last minute thought I picked up a box of regular chocolate covered cherries from the grocery store).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States