Quick Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Not bad but made some additions, I used long grain brown rice, sauted the onion, garlic then added the rice, 1 cup chicken broth, tomatoes and simmered for 20 mins. Then added the other ingredients, including some green pepper and 2 tbsp of red chili flakes. We enjoyed this with some chicken enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARNZ01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This was pretty darn good--though I did put my own spin on it as most cooks are apt to do. I sauteed the onion with some fresh minced garlic in olive oil rather than vegetable oil, and eliminated the garlic powder. In addition to the oregano I added 1/2 tsp. of cumin. Working with what I had, I cooked 1/2 cup of white long grain rice in chicken broth, then added it to the remaining ingredients to simmer awhile. This essentially amounted to changing the proportions of rice to beans, allowing for more beans, and less rice. Finally, I used chopped, fresh Roma tomatoes rather than the stewed, though that didn't necessarily make it any better--I was just working with what I had. This was SO tasty, and was the perfect side dish for "Whit's Chicken Enchiladas," also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
My whole family enjoyed this dish. I especially love the fact that it's so healthful. I sauteed fresh minced garlic with the onions, rinsed and drained the beans, used only 1 cup of brown rice, and added a little chili powder. The liquid from the tomatoes was plenty for the 1 cup of rice. We added a little shredded cheddar/jack and ate it wrapped in tortillas. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
Good tasting and healthy mean. I had to add another can of beans to this recipe to make it a bit less saucy, but that was not a big deal. I did add chili powder and ground cumin give this meal more of a "chili" type of a feel. Made regular rice seperately in my rice cooker and topped it with the bean mixture. Overall this was a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
The best black beans and rice recipe I have found. I think the tomatoes make the dish. Very healthy and hearty =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
I would definitely cook the rice separately. My rice was a little gummy and I had to add lots more water. Even still it tastes pretty good! I'll try this again soon, following my own advice of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
I thought this was fairly bland and gummy tasting. It was very easy to make, but it needs a lot more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
An easy and delicious recipe. My whole family loved it. I served the beans seperate from the rice so everyone could choose how much they wanted. Next time, I think I will make double.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
I used 30-minute rice which works just a well, but you'll need at leat 1 extra cup of water. It's a meal in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2001
Extremely straightforward, simple, and tasty; plus, it doesn't require any fancy ingredients. Also reheats well - I mixed it with chunky salsa. Will definitely have again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States