Quick Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I served this as a side dish with chicken enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E. Bice
Home Town: Arcanum, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This was really quick, really easy and really good. I think the only change I made was instead of plain canned tomatoes I had some tomatoes that were canned with peppers which added a nice spice to the dish. Add some cornbread on the side and we had a great lunch for a low cost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Very quick and very good! Perfect for those times when you are wanting something comforting and solid. Good flavor. Instead of instant rice, I used a package of Trader Joe's Fully Cooked Long Grain Brown Rice which I stirred in at the end and then let it all simmer together for about 5 minutes. No problems with gumminess. Also added some cumin and used minced garlic (sauteed with the onion) instead of garlic powder. All in all a winner! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaniger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
This recipe was quick, easy, delicious, and inexpensive. The only changes I made were in using Italian-seasoned diced tomatoes, rinsing the black beans, and cooking the rice separately and adding together at the end. I also cooked the rice in chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I found this recipe bland. I did drain the beans, as my family does not need the added gas! (maybe that's where the flavor went) I also thought it was alot of rice. I cooked my rice ahead so it wouldn't be chewy, as advised by other raters/reviewers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camerakidzmel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I sauteed onions and garlic first, and then added brown rice (not quick cooking), half a can of diced tomatoes, broth, cumin, chili powder, oregano, and s&p. After the rice cooked for about 20 min, and added the beans and heated through. Pretty decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This was a great recipe! I think that it would be a little less dry if you used 1 cup when using instant white rice. Also, it wouldn't hurt to have a little spice; maybe a jalepeno pepper or some tabasco sauce. I added sliced keilbasa sausage with the onions.Very good, and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This recipe is delicious and quick! I did revise it slightly to add a bit more flavor. I added 3tbs white vinegar, 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, and 3 cloves fresh minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
Very, very good! I used abt a Tbsp. of minced onion instead and 3 tsp. of minced garlic instead of garlic powder. Also, I prefer the taste of diced tomatoes vs. stewed, so that is what I used. I reduced the rice to about 1 1/4 c. That being said, this was a delicious recipe. Even my picky 4 yr. old liked it. This will definitely be a keeper. Wonderful for those days when lunch is running late and I don't have anything planned. Thanks so much for sharing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This was realy good. I am used to having black beans and rice Cuban style, but this was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States