Quick Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
As a former Texas girl, I can say that this recipe does not have a Tex-Mex kick to it at all. It's a good base and has potential but, as written, we found it to be pretty bland. I even added cumin and extra garlic but it wasn't enough. I didn't finish mine but Hubby liked his much better after adding salsa to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Love, love, love this recipe! I've made it with a tsp of a southwest seasoning mix for lunch. My toddler loves it! And I've made it with cajun seasoning and andouille sausage for dinner. Hubby and toddler both asked for more. And it's way healthier than buying a boxed or bagged mix. Thanks for posting this recipe. It's got a permanent place in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sam84jo
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Neh, I didn't care for this. Missing something. I guess maybe I was looking for something more like spanish rice. Maybe my temp was too high but I had to add a lot of water to the rice for it to cook up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This was pretty darn good--though I did put my own spin on it as most cooks are apt to do. I sauteed the onion with some fresh minced garlic in olive oil rather than vegetable oil, and eliminated the garlic powder. In addition to the oregano I added 1/2 tsp. of cumin. Working with what I had, I cooked 1/2 cup of white long grain rice in chicken broth, then added it to the remaining ingredients to simmer awhile. This essentially amounted to changing the proportions of rice to beans, allowing for more beans, and less rice. Finally, I used chopped, fresh Roma tomatoes rather than the stewed, though that didn't necessarily make it any better--I was just working with what I had. This was SO tasty, and was the perfect side dish for "Whit's Chicken Enchiladas," also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Great dish whole family loved it! Did make a few changes as well! Added kidney beans basil and parsley. Made the rice seperately with chicken stock! Diffentely a keeper recipe thank you for a good base recipe! Really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RHEA1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Very good alone, or with sausage or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I use either olive oil or canola oil since it is healthy to saute onion and minced garlic. I then use a can of diced tomatoes with mild green chiles and 1 cup of white instance rice. I drain and rinse the bean. My husband does not like as many beans so I only use about 3/4 of the can. This is really good on flour tortillas. It is filling but you feel good about what you are eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
SUPER easy, so if you're in a hurry, this is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Good but a little bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
very good, but next time I will probably not use instant rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States