Quick Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Made this exactly like it was written. It was bland and had a weird texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Hubby and kids liked this. This was a last minute addition to the menu and I didn't have Instant Brown Rice so I prepared White Long Grain in Low Sodium Chicken Stock in it's place. This worked out well. I felt it was a little bland so next time I will follow other reviews and add Cumin or other spices to brighten it up a little. We had this with Chicken Enchiladas and felt it went together very well. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Turned out great! I cooked it a little differently. I cooked Basmati rice in broth until just slighly undercooked. Separately, in a skillet I cooked onion and green pepper in oil, added chopped garlic, a can of diced fire roasted tomatoes, a can of black beans, and oregano. I let that simmer for a few minutes, then added the rice, turned the heat off and placed a lid on it. I let it sit for 5 minutes, just long enough for the rice to finish cooking while sitting there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
My 11yr old liked it so it is a keeper. I put beans & tomatoes and seasoning in small crock pot. I was too lazy to cut up an onion so I just used onion powder. I made 10 minute rice separate and then mixed together. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mary Esther, Florida, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This was a big hit with my family. Everyone loved it. I added ground turkey, chili pepper and cumin to make it more of a main dish. The next day I used it as a burrito filling, it was great. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I was looking for some new healthy recipes for my daughter (almost 1 1/2) and came across this! I was very pleased! This was VERY easy to make and it had a good taste. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I always use this as a base for my burrito filling or chip dips. Yummy and fast and customizable - great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I enjoyed this! I took the advice of other reviewers and used minced garlic in place of powder which I sauteed with the onion in olive oil. Also added some jarred jalapeno with it. Added tomatoes, beans and cumin for flavor. Very easy and delicious! Will make great leftovers in a burrito I am sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JZGrebe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sanford, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
For the 1st time did the recipe as is & it made a healthy, easy, tasty side dish with some chicken soft tacos. I love easy & healthy dishes that I can make after a long day at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Replacing vegetable oil with olive, I added one chopped jalapeno pepper with onion then once they were tender, added tomatoes, oregano, 1/4 tsp cumin, 1 tsp minced garlic and drained beans. The rice, I used used 1 cup regular brown rice, cooked in steamer for 45 mins then stirred into the bean tomato mixture after it simmered for about 5 mins. Served to husband on whole wheat tortillas with hot salsa and shredded cheese......He Loved It!! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States