Quick Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Great, easy meal for a fast dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I followed the recipe and made a few changes. I used fresh garlic instead of powder and cooked it with the onions & EVOO instead of vegetable oil. I also added some chicken broth at the end because the rice was still too chewy. I like my rice on the mushy side. Came out perfect. Great basic recipe, very delicious and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicen80

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I thought this was perfect! The canned beans and tomatoes make the nicest thick flavorful sauce. I did find I needed to add about a half cup extra water to cook my rice, but there is an awful lot of variation between the brands of canned tomatoes/beans so that might not be your case. As written this is seasoned mildly which worked perfect with my spicy main and side, of course extra peppers and herbs can be added depending on preference, I would hope no one docks stars or calls this "bland" for that silly reason :) Thanks so much for sharing, this is going to be made often in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Made it just as the recipe said except cooked white rice separately. Was great with the addition of a scoop of sour cream mixed in just before eating! Would definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Very bland, even after I added crushed red pepper and seasoned salt. Also, the liquid to rice ratio must be off...had to add chicken broth because the rice was chewy and all the liquid was gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alaska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
surprisingly really tasty. i was a little worried considering it was such a simple recipe but it turned out great! had this as a side dish to tacos and it was the perfect addition. the only think i switched was the garlic. i sauteed real garlic in with the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This was great. I made it with fish tacos. Even my 15 month old ate it. I did add a half of a lime at the end before I served it. Didn't need it but did add to it. We will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Wonderful lunch. I nixed the oregano and added some taco seasoning. Viola! Naked Burrito. Serve with sour cream and shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
i tried this recipe wrapped in a wheat tortilla, with a small amount of sour cream. It was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
As a bachelor with a small budget for food and not a lot of time to cook extravagant meals, this has become one of my favorite meals. The stewed tomatoes make this dish. Last night I tried putting my own spin on it along with the advice from other reviewers; I used 2 cans of beans, 2 cloves of fresh garlic to replace the powder, 1/2 tsp cumin, a pinch of chili powder, a bit of chicken broth (1 cup was too liquidy, I had to drain some) and I added about 1/4 cup frozen corn and a small can of green chiles. I also cooked the rice seperately and did not mix in with the rest until it was on my plate as I do with most rice dishes. It turned out really good, but if I use 2 cans of black means again I will also use 2 cans of stewed tomatoes and probably will sautee a jalepeno to give it some more kick. This is a truly guilt-free meal as it is cheap, healthy, and vegetarian along with being actually very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States