Quick Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by rdahlen14
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This is great for a quick beans and rice recipe and very simple so that cooking novices (like myself) can make it. It was delicious and satisfying, but hey, I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
not bad but the second time I made it I used vegetable base, shallots in place of onion,sun-dried tomatoes, roasted garlic and some cumin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I made this tonight and it was quick and delicious! All ingredients I kept exactly as recipe called for only adjustment was time had to add an additional 5 minutes because rice looked hard & not completely cooked. I will definitely make recipe again. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
It was tasty, but I feel like it was missing something. I also added about a 1/4 cup of water, because it was too dry when I added the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
My older son is a very picky eater and needs protein. This not only fit the bill, but he (and the other family members) loved it! I didn't tweak it at all and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Made this tonight, and it was delicious and very easy. I didn't have stewed tomatoes, so I just used chopped Italian tomatoes. I think next time I will probably just regular rice instead of the minute rice just to give it a little bit better texture, but I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I went vegetarian a couple years ago, and this was one of the first recipes I had come across soon after giving up meat. Since then, I've probably made this recipe a hundred times, it's THAT good. It didn't take very long before I put my own spin on it to make it taste a little more like an authentic Mexican recipe. Instead of a can of stewed tomatoes, I used a can of Ro*tel. I also added a little bit of corn. Also, instead of using the standard Italian oregano, I used Mexican oregano that I brought back with me from a trip to Arizona, and instead of one teaspoon of it, I used two. I added about a tablespoon of ground cumin. When the time came to stir in the rice, I also added about 1/4 cup of water. I simmered for about 7-9 minutes according to package directions. Before serving, I garnished it with a sprig of cilantro. I really wowed my family...they ALL loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Used chili ready stewed tomatoes and served over regular brown rice. (Cooked seperately). Also, added cilantro , a little lime juice & corn. Served with fresh avocado & side of cheddar cheese. Needed a little table salt to individual taste. Great inspirational start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This is the best/easiest recipe for black beans and rice I have found yet! Not too many ingredients and very quick for a weeknight! I added 1/2 tsp cumin as well, and salt to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I make this for my daughters lunch all the time.She loves it so much. Have made it with the canned tomatoes and chilies to give it an extra kick. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States