Quick Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Simple, quick, cheap, and tasty! We like adding cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYRIELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
This was ok. An easy way to make beans and rice a little healtheir by using the brown rice. I cooked my rice separately (using chicken broth) drained my black beans and added sharp cheddar cheese. I served this with spinach tortillas and mexican seasoned chicken breasts. My husband and daughter both liked the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Not bad but made some additions, I used long grain brown rice, sauted the onion, garlic then added the rice, 1 cup chicken broth, tomatoes and simmered for 20 mins. Then added the other ingredients, including some green pepper and 2 tbsp of red chili flakes. We enjoyed this with some chicken enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARNZ01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This was great. I used diced tomatoes with green pepper and onion because I had them. I also added some chili powder and cumin and a can of corn. Yummy went well with the Chicken Quesadillas I made. Thanks for the great easy side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Really good, really easy, really fast, and really cheap. My fiance loved it and he's generally not enthusiastic about his food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Very good and easy - eating it right now! I didn't have brown rice so I cut it down to one cup of uncooked white rice and cooked it seperately from the beans. I ran the stewed tomatoes through the food processor to reduce tomato chunks - I just don't like them - and added some chili powder, salt and cumin. Very good. Will make again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This is excellent!!! Just be advised that if you do use instant rice, just be sure to add some extra water. No big deal, especially if you like it creamy. I also used turkey keilbasa and you really can not tell the difference. Also, I used fresh garlic and I also added some chopped celery. To spice it up a bit with some flavor, I added some cayanne pepper and some ground cumin...YUM YUM YUM...The tomatoes I used came with onions, green peppers and celery in them. I would recommend that..ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I liked this recipe. Only thing is it does need a bit more spice for my family...we like spice, but if you enjoy a nicely flavored black beans and rice with little to no "heat" you'll like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Berlin, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Good base recipe. I used 2 cloves minced garlic, added a small can of chopped green chiles, some cumin and chili powder, turned out great... still healthy, but with more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tee Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This is edible, I'll say that much, although the taste is bland. In addition to that, I followed the recipe exactly, and found that there was not nearly enough liquid to cook the rice. When I opened the lid of the pan at the end of the 5 minute cooking time, the rice and beans were dry, hard, and stuck to the bottom. I had to add a lot more water and simmer for a few more minutes. I made this as a side dish to go with tacos, but it isn't good enough to eat that way. I ended up putting some of it IN my taco which made it taste better - or maybe it was the sour cream, cheese, and other toppings that tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kilijen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States