Quick Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
It was good - nice and basic. I thought it seemed a bit on the plain side (maybe needs more spice like green peppers or something?). But it was quite good, definitely easy, and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.F.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
Fast, Easy, Yummy. My roommate stole some from me and every time I ate it people were jealous. I pre cooked the rice. Also good with a bit of cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
This recipe is SO easy and VERY tasty! My husband loved it too - and it's healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Simple, quick, cheap, and tasty! We like adding cheese and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYRIELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
This was ok. An easy way to make beans and rice a little healtheir by using the brown rice. I cooked my rice separately (using chicken broth) drained my black beans and added sharp cheddar cheese. I served this with spinach tortillas and mexican seasoned chicken breasts. My husband and daughter both liked the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Not bad but made some additions, I used long grain brown rice, sauted the onion, garlic then added the rice, 1 cup chicken broth, tomatoes and simmered for 20 mins. Then added the other ingredients, including some green pepper and 2 tbsp of red chili flakes. We enjoyed this with some chicken enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARNZ01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This was great. I used diced tomatoes with green pepper and onion because I had them. I also added some chili powder and cumin and a can of corn. Yummy went well with the Chicken Quesadillas I made. Thanks for the great easy side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Really good, really easy, really fast, and really cheap. My fiance loved it and he's generally not enthusiastic about his food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Very good and easy - eating it right now! I didn't have brown rice so I cut it down to one cup of uncooked white rice and cooked it seperately from the beans. I ran the stewed tomatoes through the food processor to reduce tomato chunks - I just don't like them - and added some chili powder, salt and cumin. Very good. Will make again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This is excellent!!! Just be advised that if you do use instant rice, just be sure to add some extra water. No big deal, especially if you like it creamy. I also used turkey keilbasa and you really can not tell the difference. Also, I used fresh garlic and I also added some chopped celery. To spice it up a bit with some flavor, I added some cayanne pepper and some ground cumin...YUM YUM YUM...The tomatoes I used came with onions, green peppers and celery in them. I would recommend that..ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States