Quick Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This recipe was very good although,it needs more flavor,or should I say a kick.I used real garlic instead of the powder. I also added,crushed red pepper,chili powdre,& a little hot sauce.Other than it being a little on the mild side,it was great.I went by the recipe except for using the real garlic because,I have a 84 yr. old mother & I wanted her to be able to eat it too.She loved it.T he other adults that wanted it hotter,added spices to it later,everyone was happy,I'd make this again,for sure.Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Great recipe. I used mexican style stewed tomatoes. Made all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Very easy and very good! I ommitted the oregano and added garlic and cumin instead. I served it with shredded cheddar on top. Delicious-- even my 4 1/2 year old and 16 month old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Renick, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Spencer, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
Great recipe. I love the packaged version, but I'd say this is better. Crushed or diced tomatoes would probably be a little better since they would mix in better, but the flavor was great! Healthy and SO filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I added some lime juice to the pot, and it came out wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
this recipe turned out pretty dry. i think if i made it again, i would add less rice. i dont care for big chunk tomatoes, so i chopped the stewed tomatoes. very easy recipe though. i served it with some shredded cheese and flour burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
I LOVED this! I changed it quite a bit though, I cut down on the tomatoes and added corn and a TINY dash of crushed red pepper flakes. I also Drained all of the canned goods and used that liquid to cook yellow saffron rice in the rice cooker. When everything else was done I threw it in the rice cooker and let it sit for a while. I then served it on a flower tortilla with some lettuce and sour cream. ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
It was good - nice and basic. I thought it seemed a bit on the plain side (maybe needs more spice like green peppers or something?). But it was quite good, definitely easy, and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S.F.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
Fast, Easy, Yummy. My roommate stole some from me and every time I ate it people were jealous. I pre cooked the rice. Also good with a bit of cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
This recipe is SO easy and VERY tasty! My husband loved it too - and it's healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States