Quick Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
This is a great, simple dish, but like others have mentioned, I made a few tweaks to the recipe: 1) I used brown basmati rice (cooked it first), 2) I sauteed minced garlic with the onions (instead of garlic powder), 3) I added about a 1/4-1/2 cup of water, 4) I did not have any dried oregano, so I added some some dried cilantro and dried basil instead, 5) I added some cumin and also some cayenne for a bit of heat. One of the easiest and healthiest dishes you can make and it tastes so good. The best part of a dish like this is how flexible it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
I thought the recipe was ok but I cooked it too long and the rice I had was not instant. I think next time I will use instant brown rice and put two cups of water in with the black bean mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
yumm! added a large minced garlic, added a cup and a half of juice left from slow cooker pork, a cup of water w/ chkn bullion cube and added 1/2 tsp onion powder. omitted tomatoes. used large silver pot, rice stuck on bottom (don't mix w/ rest of rice b/c it was a little hard... separate b/c it was delicious... had lots of flavor!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
This dish was very filling, healthy and delicious! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
a great base recipe. i added fresh cilantro, cayenne, and real garlic instead of powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hope, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Lillington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Excellent recipe. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I forget how I changed it. Froze really well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
For more flavor, add ground black pepper or better yet, white pepper (it's hotter than black, be forewarned!), cumin, a pinch of cayenne if you like things spicy, and fresh cilantro. Even a packet of (low sodium!) Sazon will help. Also, saute a thinly sliced celery stalk with the onion and use fresh garlic instead of powdered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
My daughter doesn't eat meat, so this was a great taco shell filler for her. The only change we made was to use Mexican style diced tomatoes instead of stewed tomatoes because we were making tacos with the filling. We used this in place of taco meat and added yummy taco toppers like shredded cheese, guacamole, sour cream and lettuce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holly, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
As written, I was not a big fan. I don't really care all that much for instant rice and throwing it all in the same pot just made it an unpleasant texture. So I made a few changes the second time and really enjoyed this dish! First, I switched to long grain rice and cooked it separately. Meanwhile, I sauted onions and fresh minced garlic in some olive oil, then added the beans (I love beans, so I upped it to two cans), tomatoes and cooked rice and switched the oregano for some fresh basil. Oh so yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States