Quick Black Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Very easy recipe! I just cooked my own brown rice separately and mixed everything together at the end, instead of cooking instant rice in there. The taste was a little weak for our preference so I added some cumin and chili pepper powder pretty liberally, which I would highly recommend. It's a great thing to have in the fridge as leftover sides or small meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabrielle Massé

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Like the idea but you can make this dish without much trouble using better mix of ingredients IMO. I use dried Black turtle beans and soak them while I'm at work, long grain brown rice, then I use store bought salsa instead of canned tomatos and onion. Also I'm not a vegetarian but enjoy vegetarian/vegan dishes, so I usually add some cheddar cheese while its still hot so it mixes in, but clearly this is not an addition for our vegan readers, but for the vegetarians / healthy meat eaters it does add a bit to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyle Grost

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Made this for lunch today for lunch and it was a huge hit-quick, economical, and delicious.We served it in burrito shells with fresh salsa, cheese, hot sauce and sour cream, but it was great on its own, too. My husband used the leftovers as a dip with tortilla chips. My 9-year old even asked if we could have this for dinner sometime. We made it according to the directions except that we only used one cup of rice (all we had left in the pantry). This will be going into the lunch rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Very easy will make over and over so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This was good. I made it as written. It is very mild so if you like your food more robust in flavor I advise you to add spice. My family added hot sauce before eating and that was enough for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This is pretty much what we Costa Ricans have for breakfast all the time! A nice spin comes if you add chopped pork cracklings and deep fried spiced diced pork! Add to this some tortilla chips and you will have a nice Chifrijo! Best pub food ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I didn't have stewed tomatoes on hand until I noticed a can of them after I'd already used a can of diced tomatoes, maybe that is why mine tasted so bland. I had added a 1/4 tsp of cumin and some green pepper, but this was not my favorite recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rdahlen14
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This is great for a quick beans and rice recipe and very simple so that cooking novices (like myself) can make it. It was delicious and satisfying, but hey, I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
not bad but the second time I made it I used vegetable base, shallots in place of onion,sun-dried tomatoes, roasted garlic and some cumin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I made this tonight and it was quick and delicious! All ingredients I kept exactly as recipe called for only adjustment was time had to add an additional 5 minutes because rice looked hard & not completely cooked. I will definitely make recipe again. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States