Quick Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I find it excellent because it's simple and looks great! Will definitely be making them every day!!! Thanks a lot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This is the first time I ever tried making biscuits like these and frankly speaking, they turned pretty darn well! I did the 2:1 ratio but I didn't measure the cream (it came in a 250ml packet and 250ml=1cup) but it came out too sticky and promptly destroyed my floured surface so I added more self rising. I noticed the "knead for 5 minutes or until no longer sticky" option. Chose the latter because more than a decade's experience says nothing goes according to the recipe, and I live in the tropics. (It's starting to flood outside as I finished my last batch so it's really, really humid here) Didn't rise as much as I thought it would but that's probably from the blunder I made earlier. They came out soft, tender with a little bit of a crust and pretty tasty for a plain biscuit. Will definitely try again when I don't have a panicking family distracting me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
These biscuits are so very easy. I let my mixer do all the work and they came out soft and moist. We ate them with sausage patties, and they tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
These may not be the very best tasting biscuit I have ever made but they are so easy, I will definitely make them again! These will be great for camping since there's no shortening mess and I bet they will cook up great in a dutch oven. I used the substitute for self-rising flour and mine did need more cream do make a nice biscuit dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
These were ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bianca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out tough. They were more the texture of a roll with the flavor of a bland biscuit. They should only be mixed enough to hold together, which shouldn't take anywhere near 5 min. They would also benefit from a little butter. They were still edible, but I'd never call them biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This recipe has been around since the dawn of Self-Rising Flour... My Mom and Grandmother both used it. I use 1 1/2 cups of liquid for 2 cups of flour. They turn out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Very good. You have to knead it good so it won't be crumbly after you cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Great recipe! I was sceptical to start with. After all, using no oil sounded "scary". I used buttermilk with 2 tbls. sugar..Mixed with my hand until nice and creamy and soft, then hand rolled them, just like my grandmother use to do.They were delicious. Tasted like a mix between a roll and a biscuit. Thanks for sharing such a wonderfully easy recipe. This will be the recipe that I use from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whiteville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I have always wanted to be able to make biscuits. Every recipe I have tried has failed!!!! Guess what......I can make biscuits now!!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpine, Texas, USA
Living In: Defuniak Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States