Quick Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
i am a pro baker, have been making this recipe for years. i think they are the best,now a few tips. after you have made them a couple of times, try winging it by feel. you want your dough to feel like a wet sponge, the wetter the more tender. these can either be dropped or cut, if you are cutting,use a.p. flour to roll them out, the self will absorb and change you ratio and become tough. you also can add some chedder cheese, better than red lobsters. another trick add a little sugar and cinnamon, brush top with egg wash sprinkle with sugar, these make great short cakes, when filled with fresh fruit. use these as ideas for other things you can add to these great biscuts,bacondebaker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sweets
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Easy and YUM!!!!!!!!!!!! These biscuits are awesome. I did make a substitution, only for health... I don't use heavy cream, so I used nonfat plain yogurt. These biscuits are just so easy and delicious that I can't get over it. Oh, I didn't knead/roll, I just dropped them and they came up marvelous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
I made these for Easter dinner, and have made them several times since then. I found the original directions to yield a VERY dry dough, so the second time I started with a 1 cup flour to 1 cup cream ration and added more flour until I had a consistency that was not too sticky but not crumbly. I used my stand mixer with the dough hook. I made them both rolled and cut and as drop biscuits, and we thought they were flufflier and more tender as drop biscuits, probably because the dough was handled less and could be a little wetter and looser. I recommend these highly - easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Graham Nichols

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
KEEPER! KEEPER! KEEPER! Dinner almost ready and No Bread, can't serve dinner with bread. Thanks to ALLRECIPES and this easy, quick recipe, supper was saved. These are so good and will be my number 1 biscuit recipe! Talk about quick, I din't knead, just dropped by tablespoon onto pan! BEAUTIFUL! Again, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I admit, I was very skeptical when I saw only 2 ingredients. Thankfully, these are delicious! Very tender. I halved the recipe & it took extra liquid. I did not knead them for the 5 mins. listed. I had always read that you shouldn't over work biscuit dough. I only kneaded mine about 5 times. I will definatley be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Absolutely the best biscuit recipe ever, and I have searching for the longest time. I didn't have a biscuit cutter, so I just used a floured drinking glass. Worked out fantastic. This biscuit recipe will be my one and only. The only thing I will change is to cut in 1/4 cup of butter flavored crisco to the flour before adding the cream. Makes for very tender flaky biscuits that dont dry out the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I had to rate this again. I took these biscuits and made a stuffing with them!! OMG!!! To die for! I never had a flavorful stuffing like that in my life! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donisha B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
These biscuits are VERY good. So EZ. Thought I'd be giving a negative review when I was rolling them out. Figured they be tough as hockey pucks but sure surprised me! Yummy! I did add a bit of sugar and they did need more cream. Also only kneaded the dough to get it blended (30 seconds?). Def making again since I doubt there will be any left for breakfast! Thanks for the quick and easy AND tasty recipe >
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Wow. These were great. Good taste and good texture. If you like your biscuits sweet, add a tbsp of sugar, but I don't think they need it. Also, mine needed about a tbsp more cream to make it moist enough. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Five stars for easy! I love this recipe. Great results and only two ingredients. Definitely a keeper. Interestingly, I had to add a little flour to my dough to get it stiff enough to use. I guess it depends on your work surface and perhaps the kitchen's humidity. As they say, Your Mileage May Vary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States