Quick Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I find it excellent because it's simple and looks great! Will definitely be making them every day!!! Thanks a lot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This is the first time I ever tried making biscuits like these and frankly speaking, they turned pretty darn well! I did the 2:1 ratio but I didn't measure the cream (it came in a 250ml packet and 250ml=1cup) but it came out too sticky and promptly destroyed my floured surface so I added more self rising. I noticed the "knead for 5 minutes or until no longer sticky" option. Chose the latter because more than a decade's experience says nothing goes according to the recipe, and I live in the tropics. (It's starting to flood outside as I finished my last batch so it's really, really humid here) Didn't rise as much as I thought it would but that's probably from the blunder I made earlier. They came out soft, tender with a little bit of a crust and pretty tasty for a plain biscuit. Will definitely try again when I don't have a panicking family distracting me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
These biscuits are so very easy. I let my mixer do all the work and they came out soft and moist. We ate them with sausage patties, and they tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
These may not be the very best tasting biscuit I have ever made but they are so easy, I will definitely make them again! These will be great for camping since there's no shortening mess and I bet they will cook up great in a dutch oven. I used the substitute for self-rising flour and mine did need more cream do make a nice biscuit dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
These were ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bianca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out tough. They were more the texture of a roll with the flavor of a bland biscuit. They should only be mixed enough to hold together, which shouldn't take anywhere near 5 min. They would also benefit from a little butter. They were still edible, but I'd never call them biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This recipe has been around since the dawn of Self-Rising Flour... My Mom and Grandmother both used it. I use 1 1/2 cups of liquid for 2 cups of flour. They turn out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Very good. You have to knead it good so it won't be crumbly after you cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Great recipe! I was sceptical to start with. After all, using no oil sounded "scary". I used buttermilk with 2 tbls. sugar..Mixed with my hand until nice and creamy and soft, then hand rolled them, just like my grandmother use to do.They were delicious. Tasted like a mix between a roll and a biscuit. Thanks for sharing such a wonderfully easy recipe. This will be the recipe that I use from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whiteville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I have always wanted to be able to make biscuits. Every recipe I have tried has failed!!!! Guess what......I can make biscuits now!!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpine, Texas, USA
Living In: Defuniak Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States