Quick Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
These were the best ever ! I just had to add a touch more cream.My family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
After searching and trying several biscuit recipes, this is the one I've decided to keep and make again. I did need a splash more cream but everyone seemed to like these. I did mine as drop biscuits but patted them into a patty shape by hand because I think the batter would be too sticky to roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lrjunkie
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I'm pleasantly surprised by how these turned out. I didn't have self-rising flour so followed the notes to use regular flour and added baking powder and salt. I followed the advice given by some of you to add in butter flavored crisco (1/4 cup) and it turned out fantastic! I made this with the "Super Sausage Gravy" recipe also found on this site. mMmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I tried these last night and while it was easy... they were also dry. I had to butter the tops and bottoms and eventually the insides. . . . I recommend following the advice of another reviewer to cut in either crisco (or margerine). Also, while I wanted to follow the recipe to the letter this time, I think next time I will add some sharp cheddar cheese to the mix. . . . DO NOT over knead the dough!!! It was like a bunch of little continents when I mixed it together, as the dough was seperated. I did manage to flatten it out by hand and then, with some margerine on the 1 cup measuring cup rim, cut each biscuit out. This made about 7-8 bicuits only. Double the recipe if you have a large crowd. . . I did cook for more likely 12-15 minutes because when they were cooking, they were still white and I wasn't sure if they were done. . . . I recommend instead, following the 8 - 10 minute advice, but have a "scrap" biscuit for testing. . . These were tasty, but they lacked just a hair in flavor (until butter added) and very extremely dry. I will attempt next time to add just a (1/2 cup?) hair more cream than advised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smarmy Snodsnick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Just like my grandmother use to make, and taught me to make. I wouldn't change a thing. Great biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ToT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stigler, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I made these for breakfast and they turned out perfectly! I didn't have heavy cream on hand, so I combined 3/4 cup milk with 1/4 cup butter, stirring for 2 minutes and used that instead. I ended up needing a little more than the 1 cup the recipe called for, but they were awesome! Normally, I am terrible at cooking biscuits, but these turned out great! The only thing was that mine didn't brown on top, not sure why but I am assuming I should have buttered the top??? Anyway, great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunsetBliss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Very easy and awesome with buttermilk as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I just made these biscuits this morning. I hadn't made biscuits from scratch in a long time, and I needed a refresher on ingredients and method. I have to say, this recipe was wonderful! The biscuits came out perfect and my family just LOVED them. I did have to make a few changes due to lack of heavy cream. I used 1 cup of 2% milk and added 1/4 cup of sour cream as well. I mixed everything by hand till it came together then dropped them onto the pan and brushed the tops with some melted butter before baking. They browned beautifully! I will be making these biscuits again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
These are awesome. I am not a biscuit expert/snob by any means so I'm pretty easy to please, but for me this will be the only recipe I ever use. I mix and drop mine, no rolling/kneading, and in my environment I always need to add more cream. The user review about wanting the dough to feel like a wet sponge guides me to perfect results everytime. I used to "make" those pouches you just add water to but this is almost as easy and much more wholesome. Thank you so much for submitting this staple recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I made these biscuits as is. DELICIOUS!!!!! Also I have used other yogurts instead of the cream and its just flavored biscuits my whole family loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States