Quick Berry Milkshake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I was specifically looking for a recipe that was cold and used blackberries. I wanted something sweet without a whole bunch of calories. I used Equal in place of the sugar. This cooled me up and filled me up. Just what I needed. Reminds me of the shakes my dad used to make for us kids in the summer after we'd spent all of August picking blackberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Tastes great! However, it becomes like too much of a slushy if you use ice cubes as well as [frozen] berries. I say choose either fresh berries or no ice cubes. Apart from that, I would also recommend using yogurt instead of milk. Nonetheless, it was quite enjoyable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cameo
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Really good. I didnt add ice and forgot all about adding the vanila. I added a banana only because my bananas are getting old, but tried it first without the banana and it was good just like that too. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cameo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This shake was great. I didn't use ice and my shake was just as thick as fast food shakes. I didn't have the frozen berry mix so I used 2 cups of frozen blackberries and about 8-10 frozen strawberries. I also used 1 1/2 cups of 2% milk and 1 tsp. vanilla. For those who didn't have enough berry flavor, I added 2 tsp. seedless raspberry jam. Boy, did it have a fruity flavor! I used 1/4 cup of Splenda but I don't think it was necessary. The jam was enough sweetener. You could use any flavor of jam or jelly. I have seen sweetened condensed milk in other recipes in place of the milk. This may add more texture and make it creamier, of course no sugar would be needed with this milk. The milk should be chilled so it makes a shake. I have also seen where people use non-dairy creamer to make it creamier. I may try one of these next time. Thanks for the recipe base though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: L'anse, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
We liked this recipe, but we changed it up a little. We did 2 1/2 cups of the ice, added 2 cups of sugar free vanilla ice cream. We did 1/3 cup of splenda instead of sugar & we increased the vanilla to 1 tsp instead of 1/2 tsp. Also, we had fresh peaches & that is what the kids wanted was a peach milkshake, so we put in 2 freshly sliced peaches into the blender instead of frozen berries. Although we changed it up quite a bit, it was a good recipe to go by. We have tried others & they weren't as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
Fantastic! I love the vanilla addition! My blender had some trouble with the ice cubes, but that's probably just because it's old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
Our family thought this was really tasty. I did not use any ice at all based on the other reviewers' comments, and it turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
absolutely delicious....i think i'll use a little less ice next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zafah7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mamaroneck, New York, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
You don't really need the ice if the berries are frozen. And when you take out the ice, you should reduce the amount of sugar by half. The vanilla extract really gives it that milkshake flavor. But I would reduce the amount a bit to make it less intense if the ice were taken out. Overall, very good, very easy, and very quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
I thought I followed the recipe exactly and was surprised when I couldnt' even drink it! Maybe I should have left out the vanilla extract? My version looked exactly like the picture too. Maybe I'm not much of smoothie person :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IAMONHERE2

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Fruit Milkshake

See how easy it is to whip up a fresh-fruit milkshake in your blender.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Lemon Berry Slushy

See how to make a chilly lemon and berry slushy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States