Quick Bean and Turkey Italian Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Great turkey meatball. Usually lean turkey creates a dry meatball but this recipe solves the problem with the beans and skillet cooking. The only substitute I made were uncooked oats for bread crumbs to remove some gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
These meatballs were delicious and so moist. The beans added an amazing flavor. I probably could have halved the recipe though because this made A LOT of meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Big Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
I used garbanzo beans, but otherwise followed the recipe. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Great recipe! I used cannellini beans and food processed like others, also added finely diced onion since I had no powder and some parm cheese. I was very skeptical looking at the mix since I've never made a "healthy meatball" before but I had a back up plan so I continued and was not disappointed. The meatballs were moist and delicious! My hubby is taking the leftovers for lunch today, he raved over them! They are more filling than the average meatball so dinner can go a little further with these also. Made with rice and gravy, next time I think I'll try with red sauce. Eating healthier wouldn't be so scary if there were more recipes like this one! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PETRIE27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marta'sCrafts
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I didn't put any bread crumbs in it, so I used a spoon to put some meat in he pan, but it was sooo delicious! Great idea to put the bean with the meat! I also used some Worcester sauce and some poultry seasoning mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marta'sCrafts

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
This recipe is fantastic and a "do-over" in our family! My kids loved it. I used crackers because I didn't have bread crumbs. I also used great northern beans because I didn't have butter beans. I opted to cook in olive oil on the stove and the flavor added so much to the recipe. It also made the meatballs very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I used blackeyed peas because that is what I had on hand. Excellent! I am not a huge meatball fan, but I really enjoyed this lighter version, and my meatball loving family did as well. I made extra and froze some for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
My wife is vegan for health reasons. I substituted "Gimme lean" sausage for this recipe and we both loved it. Thanks for such wonderful ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I didn't have the beans so I omitted. I used fresh garlic and onion instead (3 cloves and 1/4 respectively) plus added parsley and some Parmesan cheese. These meatballs are by far the juiciest I've ever made. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
My family loved this recipe! I didn't have butter beans so I used navy beans and my daughter has celiac disease(no gluten) so I left out the bread crumbs but substituted oatmeal. Will be adding this to the dinner rotation for sure!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lake View Terrace, California, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Italian Meatballs

See the secret to tender baked Italian meatballs.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States