Quick Apple Pie Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
After reading the reviews, I made the following changes: 1. baked it in a 9" pie pan, as other people said there was too much batter for a loaf pan 2. Lessened the butter to 3/4 c and added 1/4 c applesauce 3. Left out the raisins as It was already going to be sugary enough 4. Used 1/2 c splenda and 1/2 c white sugar, no brown sugar. 5. Substituted 1/2 c instant vanilla pudding and pie filling for 1/2 c flour. The flavor was great and it baked very well in the pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I read the reviews first; then took the advise of many... make this in two pans. I used homemade apple pie filling and skipped the raisins. Made the house smell wonderful while baking on a cool Sunday morning. Thanks, Amber for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Made this 2 days ago and it's gone now. I split the dough into 2. One loaf had no add-ins and I used pumpkin pie spice instead of just cinnamon. A very nice quick bread. The other loaf (as pictured) had dried cranberries, ground pecans and a quick streusel topping. This was much more like a special cake/dessert. Both were moist after 60 minutes in the oven. Next time I will either use 2.5 cups of flour or 2 cups of bread flour to get a slightly stiffer bread to slice and toast. I did put a slice of the bread that is pictured in the toaster but the apple to bread ratio didn't allow it to really toast up. It was simply warmed from the toaster but not sturdy enough to put some butter on. If that makes sense?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I used 1/2 cup butter for less liquid-still doughy and NO flavor. I doubt I will try this recipe again. Sorry, Amber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westwego, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Really good flavor, but cooking it for a hour did not do the trick. The loaf was really heavy and still gooey inside. Next time I will split the batter between two smaller pans or something. It needs a longer cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was really good. I followed the recipe exactly as it was written. It was so easy to make, and came out super moist. My whole family loved it. I placed it in a 9X13 inch pan and it only took 30 min. to cook. The raisins were a great addition, (I soaked them in warm water for about 5 minutes before I added them.) But I think cranberries would be a great also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Barber Hughes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Extremely moist cake with a delicious flavor. Might cook just a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This is a delicious bread! I baked it in two bread loaf pans and it turned out perfect. Was so moist and yummy! I will definitely make this again. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Very good ~ And it smelled sooo good while baking! I followed the recipe for the most part, except I used dried cranberries instead of raisins and omitted the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belladarisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Very minor alterations, the first being a loose 1/2 cup of brown sugar rather than packed (I ran out). Also, I added a dash allspice, nutmeg, and cloves. I also used dried cranberries rather than raisins. It smells SO good while it's baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States