Quick Angel Hair with Basil Cream for One Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This dish was AWESOME! It seriously tasted like something from Olive Garden. The only thing I did different was that I added a small handful of mozzerella cheese to the sauce and I didnt use any of the pasta water. I also sauted some shrimp in butter and a clove of minced garlic and it turned out perfect! I will be making this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
WOW! My family really loved this. I needed this for 6 and it converted very easily. I wanted to add chicken so I just cut chicken breasts into bite size pieces seasoned with salt and peper and cooked them with the onions and garlic. I also had some really fresh tomatoes so I chopped them into small pieces and added them to the top of the dish after it was on the plate. This made a wonderful addition. I will be making this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Fantastic!!! After reading everyone's issues with thickness, and especially since I am a carbonara expert (Thanks Dad!), the best way to get desired thickness is a low flame for 20-30 minutes, constant stirring, and if necessary, 2 tbsp of cornstarch and 2 tbsp of cold water mixture. Other than the usual additions of shrimp, chicken or veggies, I wouldn't have changed a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Easy, quick, and delicious. I doubled the recipe and made it for my boyfriend, served with a garlic chicken breast. He still can't stop raving about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I have made this so many times, my husband and I love it! I've done it several ways, but here's my favorite. I add a ton of chopped mushrooms with the onion ( I put mushrooms in everything) I also add 2 TBSP of flour to the butter mixture to thicken it a little. I use Fat Free Half and Half (that's why it needs thickened a little). Much healthier and I don't miss the cream! Also put in a pinch of nutmeg and 1/2 cup of shredded mozzerella. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This recipe is so quick and delicious. I doubled the recipe and added a pound of shrimp. AWESOME!!! It's now the household favorite. Side note: the sauce was a little runny so I added about a cup of mozzarella cheese. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Made the recipe as is except for some minor changes. I used half-and-half instead of heavy cream and added about 1 T flour to the sauce before adding the cream to make a thicker sauce. Neither of these changes changed the integrity of the recipe. I think this is a good quick lunch especially during a pasta craving but nothing particularly special. It does taste like some box mixes I have tried. I may make it again but will probably tweak it extensively.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This was delicious! Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
This recipe is amazing! I even converted the recipe to feed 10 & it was just as delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, adding shrimp at the very end of cooking the sauce. Definately a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Made the recipe exactly as stated and my son & I both found it lacking in flavor, rather bland. Disappointing since I made a special trip to the store for heavy cream, a sweet onion, and fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamabean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States