Quick Angel Hair with Basil Cream for One Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This dish was AWESOME! It seriously tasted like something from Olive Garden. The only thing I did different was that I added a small handful of mozzerella cheese to the sauce and I didnt use any of the pasta water. I also sauted some shrimp in butter and a clove of minced garlic and it turned out perfect! I will be making this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
WOW! My family really loved this. I needed this for 6 and it converted very easily. I wanted to add chicken so I just cut chicken breasts into bite size pieces seasoned with salt and peper and cooked them with the onions and garlic. I also had some really fresh tomatoes so I chopped them into small pieces and added them to the top of the dish after it was on the plate. This made a wonderful addition. I will be making this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Fantastic!!! After reading everyone's issues with thickness, and especially since I am a carbonara expert (Thanks Dad!), the best way to get desired thickness is a low flame for 20-30 minutes, constant stirring, and if necessary, 2 tbsp of cornstarch and 2 tbsp of cold water mixture. Other than the usual additions of shrimp, chicken or veggies, I wouldn't have changed a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Easy, quick, and delicious. I doubled the recipe and made it for my boyfriend, served with a garlic chicken breast. He still can't stop raving about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I have made this so many times, my husband and I love it! I've done it several ways, but here's my favorite. I add a ton of chopped mushrooms with the onion ( I put mushrooms in everything) I also add 2 TBSP of flour to the butter mixture to thicken it a little. I use Fat Free Half and Half (that's why it needs thickened a little). Much healthier and I don't miss the cream! Also put in a pinch of nutmeg and 1/2 cup of shredded mozzerella. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This recipe is so quick and delicious. I doubled the recipe and added a pound of shrimp. AWESOME!!! It's now the household favorite. Side note: the sauce was a little runny so I added about a cup of mozzarella cheese. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Made the recipe as is except for some minor changes. I used half-and-half instead of heavy cream and added about 1 T flour to the sauce before adding the cream to make a thicker sauce. Neither of these changes changed the integrity of the recipe. I think this is a good quick lunch especially during a pasta craving but nothing particularly special. It does taste like some box mixes I have tried. I may make it again but will probably tweak it extensively.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This was delicious! Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
This recipe is amazing! I even converted the recipe to feed 10 & it was just as delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, adding shrimp at the very end of cooking the sauce. Definately a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Made the recipe exactly as stated and my son & I both found it lacking in flavor, rather bland. Disappointing since I made a special trip to the store for heavy cream, a sweet onion, and fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamabean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States