Quick Angel Hair with Basil Cream for One Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
This recipe is amazing! I even converted the recipe to feed 10 & it was just as delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, adding shrimp at the very end of cooking the sauce. Definately a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I thought this was good but not spectacular. It was a little bland to me and tasted a little too much of parmesan. If I make this again I will whisk in an egg yolk like I do for Alfredo, add some tarragon, and more butter for sure. I'll saute some mushrooms in the butter with the onions first, before adding the garlic. It's a decent recipe but needs tweaking to suit me. My boyfriend liked it just fine so I gave it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavannahWild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Fantastic!!! After reading everyone's issues with thickness, and especially since I am a carbonara expert (Thanks Dad!), the best way to get desired thickness is a low flame for 20-30 minutes, constant stirring, and if necessary, 2 tbsp of cornstarch and 2 tbsp of cold water mixture. Other than the usual additions of shrimp, chicken or veggies, I wouldn't have changed a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Made the recipe exactly as stated and my son & I both found it lacking in flavor, rather bland. Disappointing since I made a special trip to the store for heavy cream, a sweet onion, and fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamabean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
The taste is AMAZING! I use this sauce on it's own with pasta and also in my 'white veggie' lasagna! Everyone raves!! The reason that I am giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is because it takes forever to thicken. It's weird because the recipe says to even reserve some pasta water in case the sauce is too thick and you want to thin it out. It makes me think.... am I using the right kind of cheese? It says grated parm cheese- that's what I use, the grated stuff. I'm not supposed to be using shredded parm, correct?! Hummmm....... It's great though!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissasMeals

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This was wonderful! Like other reviewers, I served this dish with some simple garlic chicken, which I quickly sauteed separately, and combined them at the end. Didn't use any pasta water; the consistency was perfect as it was. My fiancee didn't enjoy this meal, but that's because she doesn't like cream sauce. I'll make it again next time she's not around :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
No one in my family liked this except for my 3 year old son, who 100% cleaned his plate, which is highly unusual. My husband kept complaining it tasted too much like scampi, which he doesn't really like. I just didn't really like the taste too much. Sorry, won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This dish was AWESOME! It seriously tasted like something from Olive Garden. The only thing I did different was that I added a small handful of mozzerella cheese to the sauce and I didnt use any of the pasta water. I also sauted some shrimp in butter and a clove of minced garlic and it turned out perfect! I will be making this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This was really good and it tasted just like the pasta you'd order at restaurants. But it tasted like it was missing something...next time I'll add shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
WOW! My family really loved this. I needed this for 6 and it converted very easily. I wanted to add chicken so I just cut chicken breasts into bite size pieces seasoned with salt and peper and cooked them with the onions and garlic. I also had some really fresh tomatoes so I chopped them into small pieces and added them to the top of the dish after it was on the plate. This made a wonderful addition. I will be making this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States