Quick Angel Hair with Basil Cream for One Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I have made this so many times, my husband and I love it! I've done it several ways, but here's my favorite. I add a ton of chopped mushrooms with the onion ( I put mushrooms in everything) I also add 2 TBSP of flour to the butter mixture to thicken it a little. I use Fat Free Half and Half (that's why it needs thickened a little). Much healthier and I don't miss the cream! Also put in a pinch of nutmeg and 1/2 cup of shredded mozzerella. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This was awesome!!! This is the first time I have ever been moved to actually write a review and I have been using this site for years! BTW I did not have fresh basil and used dried; I also added a little parsley as well. I upped the servings to 4 but only used 1 carton of heavy cream (2 cups) and the consistency was still perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azalea's mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I have made this a few times now. the first time I stuck to the recipe. have tryed to use diffrent milk products to cut back on fat never as smooth and creamy as with whole cream. i cut back on the onion, love the basil taste better. this is my favorite dish when im spoiling my self and its easy good as olive garden. i saute chicken and add to sauce and love to add mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This was quite good. I was looking for a substitute for the packaged angel hair pasta dishes. My toddler, who usually only eats pasta with cheese or red sauce, ate quite a bit. It wasn't the most flavorful and I think it uses a bit too much butter. We added chicken with it to fill out the meal more. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Great my daughter and I loved it. Was great even with dried basil too my fresh went bad to fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RLukitsch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
It was good. If I did it again though I would use regular onion instead of sweet onion, I didn't like the sweetness it imparted to the sauce. I used fat free half n half to cut calories (and to use it up before it went bad) so mine was very thin. I imagine I could've thickened it with cornstarch but it was fine like it was, just added more cheese. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
pretty good but i think this is more for 2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Excellent recipe...I love Italian food and being a vegetarian this is one of the few recipes which is meatless but very good. I followed the original reicpe but added a lot of black pepper and it turned out just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This was wonderful! A perfect sauce. I did make a few revisions - I used 1/2 cup of whipping cream and 1/2 cup of milk - I don't like pasta that is too rich...I also added some chopped mushrooms, fresh diced tomatoes as a topping and I added a pinch of nutmeg to the sauce. The taste was wonderful and my husband was licking the plate! Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gloucester, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richlands, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
i added tomato paste, dash of nutmeg, and cut back on the basil. once i added grilled shrimp for a change. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Shrimp and Basil

A foolproof shrimp and pasta dish that’s super quick and easy.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States