Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Easy and good, see notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
It sounds good but it is not Mexican! In Mexican food, people usually don't bake chicken, especially after cooking it in a pan. Cumin is not a seasoning, cheddar cheese is only used sliced for cheese burgers, and salsa is for chips. Make the same without the cumin, make your own tomato sauce, boiling or canned tomatoes with onion and garlic and blending it. Cook it with a little bit of oil and pour over the chicken. Skip the cheese, if you must use Monterrey Jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I make it with Tilapia and like it best that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Born

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This was easy and good!! I didn't brown the chicken tenderloins first,,,i just baked them along w the cheese and salsa on top,,, 375 for about 40 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Absolutely love this recipe and make it quite often. I can't wait til my garden grows in so I can use home made salsa instead of store bought! Sometimes I brown the chicken before hand and sometimes I do it straight from raw, both ways are delicious! My seasoning is a mixture of things, mainly cumin, garlic salt (instead of cloves) and a few other random things. Also, instead of straight cheddar cheese, I specifically buy Fiesta/Mexican shredded cheese mix. This is definitely a great core recipe and offers you the ability to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChePan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Applegate, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jak rico
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Very simple followed recipe. Used large chicken breast next time use smaller or tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Quick & Easy Mexican Chicken Haiku: "Flavor was alright. But the texture? Not so good. Could've been better." Maybe if the chicken had been rubbed down w/ a more varied Mexican-themed sprinkle of seasoning (or as suggested by some reviews, taco seasoning), or maybe if the chicken had skipped the oven and continued cooking in a salsa-bath in the skillet, or if maybe the chicken went right to oven w/o being browned first (too many maybes, I don't think I'll make it again either way) ... but ultimately following the recipe resulted in a chicken that tasted good based on my having used a quality salsa and cheese and eating it over a salad, but the texture of the chicken was just too rubbery on the outside, and not moist enough on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Simply phenomenal! Easy, quick and delicious. I used a relatively zippy salsa that made it quite delicious. I also doubled the amount of cumin and trebled the garlic because I love both. But other than that, the recipe was perfect as-is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Zielinski
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Amazing! Moist, tender, and full of flavor! Definitely a keeper for my family. (I used rather large "pinches.") Served with Spanish rice, refried beans, and sweet tea. For dessert, Impossible Coconut Pie II.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cabot, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Really good recipe. I needed something quick and I'm always leary of using my oven with main dishes as it adds cooking time but this recipe allowed me time to make a salad alongside. Loved Jenny's comment about using a salsa with corn and black beans... I'll have to make sure I have some of that type on hand for next time. My 4yo isn't into salsa so I just skipped it on his portion and he loved the broiled cheese on chicken. Thanks for he recipe Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 440) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States