Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Okay. So, when I read the other reviews, I thought that I might be able to make it less bland and cut back on the salt. I made a batch of the Taco Seasoning 1 (cut back a little on the chili seasoning and salt) from this site and wisked it together with a tablespoon of brown sugar. I rubbed that into the de-skinned chicken thighs and poured that over the chicken and let it "marinate". I cooked it like that and didn't add the cheese until the last ten minutes of the cooking, to prevent it from burning. This was tasty. I paired it with the Mexican Sour Cream Rice from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
508 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Five stars for a "quick and easy" dish. I'd say there's a big payoff with this recipe for something that's so simple to throw together! Browning the chicken in a skillet before finishing in the oven provides a lot of flavor and is a step, I believe, that should not be omitted. I seasoned it liberally with salt, pepper, garlic powder and cumin - MUCH more than the "pinch" called for, and browned it in butter. The result after browning looked like blackened chicken. The rest of the preparation was a snap - spoon on a good salsa, top with shredded Cheddar and minutes later the dish is ready to serve. Since the chicken is pretty much cooked before it goes into the oven, care should be taken not to overcook it. Hubs and I really enjoyed this, served with Best Black Beans and Spanish Rice with Bacon, recipes also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
472 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Quick, easy and great! I didn't bother browning the chicken before baking, just used thawed tenders and sprinkled them with cumin, pepper and minced garlic before adding the salsa and cheese. I baked for about 35-40 minutes and it came out perfect! Nice recipe with common ingredients. I recommend giving this a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
336 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
Yum - this was so good. I cut my chicken in strips and put in bowl and mixed together 2 cloves of garlic, salt, pepper and Pampered Chef's Southwestern Seasoning. I then seared the chicken in a small bit of vegetable oil. I put in lightly greased dish and put chunky salsa and shredded Cheddar and baked. Made Spanish Rice on the side - served with sour cream. This was so yummy. Thank you Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLTOONS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Simple, quick, and delicious! I had my doubts with so few ingredients, but it was worth the try. I needed something easy for a late night supper for me and my husband. I used two chicken breasts and there's no need to brown the chicken first. I just sprinkled both sides with garlic powder, salt, cracked black pepper, cumin and a little chili powder. I used a thick and chunky salsa and poured all 16 oz. into an 8x8 baking dish at 350 for 45 minutes. The last 5 minutes I grated pepper jack cheese over top. To make the presentation a little better I chopped some green onion and sliced black olives on top and served with sour cream and a side of spanish rice. This had to be the easiest meal I've ever made off of this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
This recipe is wonderful - I've made it a few times now and we always enjoy it. I use a salsa that has beans and corn in it and the same quantities of salsa and cheese as the recipe calls for, but 6 chicken breasts.. it still has plenty of sauce :) Also very good reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
This is truly quick, easy and very good. I used thick sliced pepper jack cheese instead of the shredded cheddar and it worked out very well. I served it with spanish rice and sliced avacado. I use a similar recipe to make chicken parmesan. Use maranara sauce in place of the salsa and mozzarella cheese for the cheddar and top with parmesan. Also quick, easy and very tasty. It is great with pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
An excellent recipe I serve over brown rice cooked with chicken boullion. If I don't have a lot of time to fuss in the kitchen, I slice each chicken breast in half width-wise, sprinkle with cumin and pepper and place in the baking dish (without frying first) with the salsa and cheese. It then takes about 35 minutes to bake, which leaves me free to do other things before dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I made this for dinner tonight. Although the flavor was good and the chicken was moist inside, I didn't care for the texture of the outside of the skinless chicken breasts. Under the salsa and cheese the outside of the breasts were too dry. If I make this again, I don't think I'll brown the breasts first or if I do, I'll bread them. In my opinion I think this would be better if the breasts baked with the salsa in a 400 degree oven and then add the cheese about 10 mins before they're done cooking. Skip the browning all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Very good! I steamed the chicken and spices in a steamer first. Then I lined a 9 x 13 pan with refried beans and seasoned them with taco seasoning. I placed the chicken on top of the beans and smothered everything with a can of "spanish style tomato sauce" (found by the mexican food in the grocery store). Then I poured salsa on top of the chicken. Finally I sprinkled taco cheese over the top. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 439) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States