Quiche (Southern Egg Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
This was really good and a great way to use sausage differently! I told the husband it was southern sausage pie because he won't even try quiche! hee-hee.....he loved it! I tweaked this up a bit by using 1 lb. hot italian sausage[left out hot sauce and butter], added mushrooms, an extra egg and pimento. It made two pies...but they were way too brown, even after covering with foil.[ergo the 4 stars] Next time I'll use the 350 degree setting for the whole process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Audubon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
We thought this was very good. Instead of pie crust, I flattened out a tube of crescent rolls in the pie plate. It turned out a little browner than I would have liked but it was still good. I also added chopped tomatoes to the egg mixture. I cooked it on 350 the entire time and it took about 45-50 minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
This is my families favorite breakfast which says a lot because they are so picky. Everyone usually wants something different, but not when I make this. I have used the sausage suggested, though very good, it's too spicy for our little ones so I substitute sage sausage and it's perfect. Other than that I don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was a great base recipe. Though I did make some changes to this.. It really wasn't so Southern. Instead of the sausage I used bacon and cooked the same way as instructed. I added about 1/2 cup of Spinach to the egg mixture and took out the Ranch and put Cream instead. I forgot to add the sugar, pepper, and salt but that ended up being alright. The pepper would have been nice but Im glad I didn't put in the salt. The bacon gave it the right amount. Also I decided not to add hot pepper sauce I'm not a fan of the flavor. Seems like a lot of changes but it was so good!! It's on my list of to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JKATRIB
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This was SO good! I didn't add hot sauce, salt, pepper or sugar. There is enough salt and spice in the sausage and ranch dressing. I used fat free ranch and reduced fat cheese. It came out wonderful. A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
My 3 1/2 year old twins LOVE this. I make it every weekend. Got one in the oven right now. Thanks. I Butter the pie dish before I put the crust in. Adds a little awesomeness to the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Mmmm - this quiche is so good! I left out the sugar and crust, as I worked it into my South Beach diet. I will be making this a lot, although I may substitute part of the sausage for some veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewisville, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This is my first quiche. I found it easy to make and my family all enjoyed it. I doubled the ingredients to make two. After reading some of the reviews, I decided to add an extra egg and only used 1/2 cup of milk. I used a little less cheese than asked for also. I baked it at the higher temp for 20 minutes and then 40 minutes at the lower temp. They turned out really great. I will be making this recipe again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This was easy enough to throw together and the flavor was good but the ranch dressing was a little too strong for us. I was surprised how light and fluffy this came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Quite good, easy, and as healthy or unhealthy as you want to make it! I didn't have Ranch dressing so used sour cream instead. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teasnob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States