Quiche (Southern Egg Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I have been craving quiche for a while, but my bf eats very few veggies and this ended up being our compromise. The only changes were that I used diced beef kielbasa instead of sausage and I put a layer of cheese on top of the crust (to keep it from getting soggy). I served it with sliced tomatoes and thought it turned out pretty good for the few ingredients in it and he really enjoyed it. I will make this again but will add some mushrooms and green peppers next time(to my side at least).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This was fabulous! Changes I made were minor (sage sausage and "fiesta blend" cheese, only because that's what I had on hand), and the quiche was a huge hit with my husband and 10 year-old son. Everyone had seconds, and my son had thirds. Definitely a keeper. Thanks for posting this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
This is always a hit with guests! Added crumbled bacons bits, diced ham and sliced mushrooms. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
My picky husband really enjoyed this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Derusha-Mackey
Living In: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I loved it! I only had reg. pork sausage on hand, but look forward to trying it again with spicy sausage! Definately a no-fail recipe...Dee-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
We thought this was a nice change of pace but not a dish we would eat often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I made this without the crust and it still kept together well, However, it may have been that I used sharp sheddar but this was so so rich we could not bare to eat more than a small piece. The flavor was good just way too strong. Im willing to try again but using a crust mild cheddar and less sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THERRERA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
We thought this was very good. Instead of pie crust, I flattened out a tube of crescent rolls in the pie plate. It turned out a little browner than I would have liked but it was still good. I also added chopped tomatoes to the egg mixture. I cooked it on 350 the entire time and it took about 45-50 minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
delicious and stress free recipe, everyone satisfied and asking me to make it every weekend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
My husband LOVED this dish. Super fattening- next time I'll try low fat cheese and lower-fat sausage- maybe turkey sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States