Quiche (Southern Egg Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I had to take out the pie crust because one of the family members is gluten free. When ever we make pie we don't put in any pie crust. And this recipe was no different. It was amazing. Actually I wouldn't wanna try it with a pie crust. The crispy bottom actually was the best part of the dish. Yum yum. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
My mom used to make quiche when I was growing up and I loved it, but I have been unable to find a recipe my husband says he would like to eat again until now. Both my husband--who said this is a "man's quiche"-- and my three and a half year old--who "doesn't like eggs"-- thought this was great. Only changes I made were that I used turkey sausage, five eggs and lowfat ranch dressing. I also didn't add any extra salt as it was plenty salty from the sausage and ranch. Thanks for a great recipe the whole family enjoyed! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Instead of a pie, I made muffins (or mini quiches) and left out the crust. The sausage can be halfed and other ingredients added; I had some frozen veggies that I threw in there and it turned out great. These make great on-the-go breakfasts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
YUMMY! My VERY picky son, loved it and ate two pieces! Definitely a "do again!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This is a fabulous quiche. The spicy sausage adds a lot of flavor. I used Pillsbury pie shells instead of making my own. I worried about the baking time but the quiche came out perfectly with the time suggested. This would be great for a party or breakfast. It was even better rewarmed the next day. Husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Great recipe!! Tried it with a few minor changes- instead of sausage (of which I am not a big fan) I used bacon and diced ham. Also I found that I prefer using 6-8 eggs instead for one quiche which makes it much fuller! Otherwise have made this recipe for many others who all absolutely love it and ask for the recipe! It is so easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I can never make just one of these. I always have to make at least 2 and sometimes 3 or 4. Everyone loves it. The only thing I do differently is I add the cheese after the sausage and cover with the egg mixture. If not, the cheese get a little too dark on top. This is a favorite on Christmas day for breakfast, especially if made the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I make a vegetarian/lower calorie version of this and LOVE it. I use: margarine instead of butter 4 cubed boca breakfast patties instead of pork sausage pepper corn ranch instead of ranch and added black pepper 4 oz or less of cheddar cheese about a cup of chopped up fresh broccoli florets and a regular instead of deep-dish pie crust i also cover it with tin foil for the entire time, and bake it at 350 the whole time. i've only ever burnt it the other way, but it's probably partly my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I let my kids help make this one- they loved it! Very easy, I didn't have any ham, though- so I subbed some chopped chicken. Really good- my whole kitchen smells awesome! I also just made it in a square glass baking dish, and it worked fine. Temp & cooking time was right on. I'll be using this again and varying the ingredients for fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JKATRIB
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This was SO good! I didn't add hot sauce, salt, pepper or sugar. There is enough salt and spice in the sausage and ranch dressing. I used fat free ranch and reduced fat cheese. It came out wonderful. A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States