Quiche (Southern Egg Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Fantastic Recipe! Super easy and delish. I didn't add the hot sauce or the additional salt and pepper and it was still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
The quiche was really good, even though I modified it a little bit. I added bell pepper to the onions and sausage and left out the milk as some reviewers had mentioned that the pie was a little runny. It turned out perfect, especially as I leaving out the milk reduced the baking time to about 35min at high temperature. I definetely will cook it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I was a little skeptical as I mixed the salad dressing into my eggs, but this unusual mix was a delicous surprise!!! My husband had 2nds and 3rds, and it made enough for breakfast in the morning! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by everydaycook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hope, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This was great and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I was a little worried about the Ranch dressing, but wow! It was great --- adds a nice creamy taste. I used sweet Italian sausage and added yellow and red onion, yellow bell pepper, baby port mushrooms, mexican-style shredded cheese and some spices. I forgot to add sugar. I didn't do too much hot sauce, hoping the kids would try it. No luck. Oh well -- more for my husband and I! Amazingly delicious! Would highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
My husband and I have always hated quiche. But, we like frittatas. So I thought I'd give this a shot, thinking, hey it's a frittata in a pie crust, this can't go wrong? Well, it didn't go wrong. But it isn't a frittata in a pie crust. There is so much cheese in the egg mixture that the eggs never do completely set, which took us a few bites and some discussion to adjust to! But the flavor was so great we persevered. I think we'll wind up making this one again. However if I do make it again I will adjust the eggs/milk/cheese ratio to firm up my egg portion a bit more to my liking (add another egg, reduce the milk by half, reduce the cheese maybe, not sure about that part, the cheese was super good!). I omitted the salt and sugar because I felt they were unnecessary (the other ingredients are salty enough, and the sugar is to offset the hot pepper sauce, which is vinegar based, but we like that). Thanks for submitting the first quiche I or my husband have ever liked! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This was very good! I used country sausage and omitted the hot sauce. The ranch dressing seemed to soak into the sausage and gave it a wonderful, unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I made this for our Church Mission Cafe and it sold out and everyone commented on how good it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
So simple and easy to make! My husband cringed him when I told him we having quiche -- he loved this!!! Next time I make it I will try to experiment with additional ingredients, such as mushrooms, green chiles etc. per my husband's request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was great! I normally don't tweak recipes until I've tried the original first, but I wanted enough filling to do two pies for my family of five hearty eaters. Unfortunately I didn't have enough eggs to just double the recipe. Here were the changes I made: I prebaked 2 pie shells at 425 for 5 minutes. I added a package of frozen spinach that had been cooked and squeeze dried on the bottom of the pie shell and then put the sausage on top of that. I increased the eggs to 6. Increased the milk by 1/4 cup and added 1/2 cup shredded parmesan cheese. All the remaining ingredients / directions were the same. I had enough filling to do two pies. The baking time for me was definitely shorter. I baked the pies @ 425 for 10 minutes and then at 350 for 25 minutes and they were perfectly done. I will DEFININTELY make this again! My husband and three teen boys totally demolished both pies :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States