Quiche (Southern Egg Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I was a little skeptical as I mixed the salad dressing into my eggs, but this unusual mix was a delicous surprise!!! My husband had 2nds and 3rds, and it made enough for breakfast in the morning! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by everydaycook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hope, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This was great and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I was a little worried about the Ranch dressing, but wow! It was great --- adds a nice creamy taste. I used sweet Italian sausage and added yellow and red onion, yellow bell pepper, baby port mushrooms, mexican-style shredded cheese and some spices. I forgot to add sugar. I didn't do too much hot sauce, hoping the kids would try it. No luck. Oh well -- more for my husband and I! Amazingly delicious! Would highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
My husband and I have always hated quiche. But, we like frittatas. So I thought I'd give this a shot, thinking, hey it's a frittata in a pie crust, this can't go wrong? Well, it didn't go wrong. But it isn't a frittata in a pie crust. There is so much cheese in the egg mixture that the eggs never do completely set, which took us a few bites and some discussion to adjust to! But the flavor was so great we persevered. I think we'll wind up making this one again. However if I do make it again I will adjust the eggs/milk/cheese ratio to firm up my egg portion a bit more to my liking (add another egg, reduce the milk by half, reduce the cheese maybe, not sure about that part, the cheese was super good!). I omitted the salt and sugar because I felt they were unnecessary (the other ingredients are salty enough, and the sugar is to offset the hot pepper sauce, which is vinegar based, but we like that). Thanks for submitting the first quiche I or my husband have ever liked! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This was very good! I used country sausage and omitted the hot sauce. The ranch dressing seemed to soak into the sausage and gave it a wonderful, unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I made this for our Church Mission Cafe and it sold out and everyone commented on how good it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
So simple and easy to make! My husband cringed him when I told him we having quiche -- he loved this!!! Next time I make it I will try to experiment with additional ingredients, such as mushrooms, green chiles etc. per my husband's request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was great! I normally don't tweak recipes until I've tried the original first, but I wanted enough filling to do two pies for my family of five hearty eaters. Unfortunately I didn't have enough eggs to just double the recipe. Here were the changes I made: I prebaked 2 pie shells at 425 for 5 minutes. I added a package of frozen spinach that had been cooked and squeeze dried on the bottom of the pie shell and then put the sausage on top of that. I increased the eggs to 6. Increased the milk by 1/4 cup and added 1/2 cup shredded parmesan cheese. All the remaining ingredients / directions were the same. I had enough filling to do two pies. The baking time for me was definitely shorter. I baked the pies @ 425 for 10 minutes and then at 350 for 25 minutes and they were perfectly done. I will DEFININTELY make this again! My husband and three teen boys totally demolished both pies :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I made a mistake and this recipe STILL turned out well! (I had to empty my pie crust to add in the cheese and I used too much meat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailorspouse

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Catania, Sicilia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This was great, not a great fan of Ranch dressing, but I had some on hand for my grandchildren, so went ahead and added it. It doesn't overwhelm the quiche at all. I anly had regular sausage so added just a touch more hot sauce. Served it on quilt day and the girls loved it. I used the Mircle Baking Powder Pie Crust on this site, try it, it is great also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Just Ham and Eggs

This is fuss-free food at its finest.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States