Quiche Lorraine II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MRS TEMPEST
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2000
This quiche was very easy to make and tasted great. I used cheddar cheese because I don't like swiss cheese and I added a small amount of black pepper to the mixture before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS TEMPEST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Not Specified, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I absolutely LOVED this recipe. It was so easy to make, and delicious. Even my meat-and-potatoes father raved over this dish. It tastes even better warmed up for left overs the next day. Only down side is that it takes much longer to cook than the recipe indicates. Other than that - divine. Will always use this recipe from now on. Note: Cooking time is more like an hour! Have tried this recipe twice now. love it, but it definitely needs much longer in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lomita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
I added an extra egg and fresh mushrooms. I also used only 1 1/3 cups of milk and it came out perfect for us. My wife and I liked this a lot and both had seconds. If you like quich, you'll certainly like this. The left overs are were just as good the next day! I give this one five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
The main reason some had trouble with the cooking time is probably because they put a very cold quiche into the oven. Everything should be at ROOM temp to cook according to recipe. This rule of thumb goes for everything I cook. ROOM temperature makes it right on. GREAT RECIPE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joydee Mccorkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
This was my first time making a quiche and this was a simple but delicious recipe. My family loved it. I made two pies and froze one. I added a little bit more salt than the recipe called for-1 teaspoon instead of 1/2 teaspoon. Careful pouring the mixture into the pie shell- it over flows. Probably my lack of experience. Served it with fruit salad. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This is an amazing and simple recipe for a classic Quiche Lorraine. I've made quiches before, not realizing that you need to cook the pie crust BEFORE you pour the wet egg mixture into it. I was dubious looking at my cooked crusts before adding the filling, but this was just wonderful. The egg mixture moistens the crusts to the perfect consistency of soft and flaky. I didn't change a thing either, which is unusual for me as I'm a born fiddler and substituter and this says something for the quality and reliability of the recipe. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. I have made this at least a half dozen times. I have added cooked fresh spinach a few times, and fresh sauteed mushrooms also. It's a quick delicious recipe...wouldn't change anything...well except for adding the spinach and mushrooms to kick it up a level. Thanks for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2000
Using milk instead of cream gives the quiche a light texture. I also added broccoli and shrimp for added flavour. Overall, easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I made this for luncheon today and although edible and flavoured to a taste, the texture was rough. I put this down to the addition of flour and sliced onion rather than applying the French method (from Alsace-Lorraine) and incorporating duxelles into the custard, only takes a few minutes to whip up. Of course as a French women and French Chef I often express my bias for authenticuty. I prefer a French-Gruyere to the Swiss for flavour, and check the bacon for salt before adding it to the recipe. In my quiche I use 8 slices of smoked streaky bacon and 2 eggs and 1 egg yolk and I use double cream rather than milk. An addition of white pepper is essential. In France chestnuts often replace the mushrooms in the duxelles. Nevertheless my family finished the above pie and enjyed a good Alsace Reisling to accompany. I am still able to spend a month every year to visit my birth-home in Normandy and to eat, drink and converse on food and of course to enjoy the quiche of the region, made with tart apples, cambenbert, local ham and eggs, chestnut and truffle duxelles and creme-fraiche topped with fresh grated nutmeg and all in a beutiful pete-brise and specially knowing that, unlike Canada and the United States, there are no restrictions or additive imposed on the dairy products and flavours to die for. Bon appetite'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This was great! I did make a few minor changes. I added about 1/8th tsp white pepper, 1/8th tsp cayenne pepper, and a little less than 1/8th tsp nutmeg to the egg mixture before pouring it into the pie shell. As another reviewer mentioned, I cut back the milk to 1 1/3 cups. My husband and I were VERY PLEASED with the results! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raytown, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quiche Lorraine I

See how to make an impressive classic with eggs, bacon, and Swiss cheese.

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States