Quiche Lorraine II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Good recipe! Per Sandrine's review, "muscade" is nutmeg. If you add it, only add a tiny amount. It perks up the flavors without actually altering the taste. I use cream instead of milk, as it makes the texture much nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Used fresh eggs from my chickens and made two of these quiches. Followed other reviewers suggestions re: more bacon and 1 1/3 c. milk. Did not have Swiss so used part skim mozzarella (which I like better). Will probably make again, but will add fresh chopped chives as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I thought it was great! I used 1/2 cup half&half, and 1 cup whole milk. also used cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tlrcirca66
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Perfect as written, simple and fast. I used 2% milk, which added just a minute or two to cooking time. I also used Gruyère (because it is my favorite swiss style cheese) and a Trader Joe's frozen ready-to-use pie crust. This is one of the easiest quiche recipes I have tried, and by far the best results. I love how well this set and cut. Perfect, don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I make this a lot and my family loves it. I do mine a little different. I use 5 eggs, 1 cup of half and half, 1 cup of swiss cheese and a dash of cajun seasoning plus the onion, bacon salt and flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Good recipe but I'm french, my origins were in Lorraine and there's no onions in the real recipe of quiche Lorraine ! Only cream, eggs, cheese and Bacon ("lardons" in french). And a little of "muscade" (I'don't know the name of this spice in english). Bye !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This is very similar to my recipe. It is very good! I make mine into indivdual tarts, putting the diced bacon, diced green onion & swiss cheese in tart shells, then filling 2/3 full with egg mixture, then a sprinkle of paprika. Then bake. Makes for awesome appetizer's for Christmas etc Also..I use half & half cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by turtleladi1020
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
We used Italian 5 cheese and Canadian bacon and we added mushrooms. It was divine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
The main reason some had trouble with the cooking time is probably because they put a very cold quiche into the oven. Everything should be at ROOM temp to cook according to recipe. This rule of thumb goes for everything I cook. ROOM temperature makes it right on. GREAT RECIPE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joydee Mccorkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Living In: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I made this for luncheon today and although edible and flavoured to a taste, the texture was rough. I put this down to the addition of flour and sliced onion rather than applying the French method (from Alsace-Lorraine) and incorporating duxelles into the custard, only takes a few minutes to whip up. Of course as a French women and French Chef I often express my bias for authenticuty. I prefer a French-Gruyere to the Swiss for flavour, and check the bacon for salt before adding it to the recipe. In my quiche I use 8 slices of smoked streaky bacon and 2 eggs and 1 egg yolk and I use double cream rather than milk. An addition of white pepper is essential. In France chestnuts often replace the mushrooms in the duxelles. Nevertheless my family finished the above pie and enjyed a good Alsace Reisling to accompany. I am still able to spend a month every year to visit my birth-home in Normandy and to eat, drink and converse on food and of course to enjoy the quiche of the region, made with tart apples, cambenbert, local ham and eggs, chestnut and truffle duxelles and creme-fraiche topped with fresh grated nutmeg and all in a beutiful pete-brise and specially knowing that, unlike Canada and the United States, there are no restrictions or additive imposed on the dairy products and flavours to die for. Bon appetite'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quiche Lorraine I

See how to make an impressive classic with eggs, bacon, and Swiss cheese.

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States