Quiche Lorraine II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2003
In trying out a variety of quiche recipes from this site, I found this to be one of the best. It makes a wonderful custard-type filling. I used 1/4 cup minced green onion, 1/2 cup ham, and omitted the nutmeg. I think pie crust takes away from the quiche, so I do a quick spray with olive oil flavored cooking spray in the quiche pan, then dust it with 2T cornmeal.Second time around, I used 1/2 whipping cream, and 1/2 half and half. Great both ways, but creamier texture with whipping cream/half and half. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
Awesome! The whole family liked it. I substituted kraft fat free cheddar for the gruyere cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermon, Maine, USA
Living In: Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
excellent, wil use many more times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loganholme, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
Excellent, I cooked it an extra 15 minutes. I didn't have any onions on hand, so I fried up some fresh mushrooms and added them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This was the first time I ever made quiche. I made it for my husband (who is an wonderful cook) who said it was the best quiche he has ever had and the best thing I have ever cooked! I will definitely keep using this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I really enjoyed this quiche, but it takes some time, quite a lot more than the recipe indicates. All the quiches I've made in the past you just poured the egg/milk mixture in on the filling ingredients and popped it in the oven. With this recipe, I spent at least 30 minutes at the stove just stirring the custard until it began to thicken and I was starting to think it NEVER was going to show signs of thickening! I used more than 1/3 cup of ham, that sounded like way too little, I probably used about a cup of diced ham (from a ham steak), which I browned in a skillet until all the excess water cooked out of it (it would have left my quiche pretty runny if I hadn't done that). I also added some sauteed mushrooms. I had maybe 1/2 cup more egg mixture than would fit in the crust because of the extra filling ingredients. The 30 minute cook time was perfect, I had brown crust and the egg filling was set. You do really have to spend some time cooking that filling on the stove over low heat though to get it to the point that it's beginning to thicken. I am not entirely sure that the result was worth the extra effort, but it was a very nice textured quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I took the advice of some other reviewers, and reduced the amount of milk (to 1 cup skim & 1/2 cup fat free half-and-half), and even so it barely fit in the pie crust. I also used monterey jack cheese, and included sauteed mushrooms with the sauteed onion. I used a little more nutmeg than the original recipe called for, and a little garlic powder. I didn't have a ham steak, so I used deli meat -- given the choice, I think I'd go with a chopped up ham steak, but the chopped up deli meat wasn't bad. It also took an extra 15 minutes to cook. But the result was fantastic! My fiance had two pieces, plus some more for breakfast the next morning (and he never eats breakfast). Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I've made it twice and it is perfect. Easy and delicious. Just a clssic quiche!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
It's been 30 years since I have made a quiche. I needed to make a dish for my daughter's 2nd grade class representing her heritage. I found my mom's old quiche pans packed away. I liked this recipe because it was simple and I am guessing will be well liked by her classmates. I made a test run today and used store bought crust to line the pan. I did keep it in the oven an extra 10 or so minutes in order to get the golden color. Absolutely perfect looking and tasting. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I used the suggested 1 1/2 cups of half and half and a little more ham. I also, used a deep dish pan and since I was using the pre-made crust, the top of the crust was below the top of the dish, but I was glad that I did it that way 'cos as others have said...I think it would have overflowed. I also added a little pepper. Very good recipe. Rich without being heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Quiche Lorraine I

See how to make an impressive classic with eggs, bacon, and Swiss cheese.

Easy Quiche

A delicious, quick-and-easy quiche with broccoli, ham, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States