Quiche Lorraine II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2003
In trying out a variety of quiche recipes from this site, I found this to be one of the best. It makes a wonderful custard-type filling. I used 1/4 cup minced green onion, 1/2 cup ham, and omitted the nutmeg. I think pie crust takes away from the quiche, so I do a quick spray with olive oil flavored cooking spray in the quiche pan, then dust it with 2T cornmeal.Second time around, I used 1/2 whipping cream, and 1/2 half and half. Great both ways, but creamier texture with whipping cream/half and half. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
Awesome! The whole family liked it. I substituted kraft fat free cheddar for the gruyere cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermon, Maine, USA
Living In: Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
This is a good recipe, but I think the cheese amount is suppose to be 1/2 cup not 1/2 pound
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
I'm a total beginer when it comes to cooking but found this recipe to be pretty straight forward. I had a hard time getting the custard to thicken until I turned up the heat a little higher and I also had to leave the quiche in the over for 10 minutes more than the recipe calls for. Maybe because my quiche dish is quite thick. Next time I do it I think I'll go for a little more custard filling, a little less cheese, and a little more meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
excellent, wil use many more times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loganholme, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I'm not sure what happened here but, 90 minutes later, my quiche is still not set and the bottom of the pan is filled with water - possibly from the ham? I used cheddar cheese but that shouldn't have made a difference. It's a good thing I fried up some potatoes because at this point, my dh is tired of waiting on dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
This was the first time I have ever made quiche. I used half & half along with 1 cup of milk. Next time, I will probably omit the nutmeg (personal taste. I used monetery jack cheese and minced green onions. I baked it about 10 minutes longer than the recipe called for and at 400. It set well and tasted very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
Excellent, I cooked it an extra 15 minutes. I didn't have any onions on hand, so I fried up some fresh mushrooms and added them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Complete disaster. The pastery didn't cook, The milk didn't evaporate. The custard looked more like scambled eggs. What went wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I gave this four stars only because I had to add additional seasoning to it (I was afraid it would be too bland if I didn't, and after tasting the finished product I think I was right). I added a bit of curry and pepper, garlic powder and what I'm sure had to be two "pinches" of nutmeg. The overall recipe was wonderful, using smoked ham and smoked gruyere cheese. I even used a store bought crust - which I normally don't do. I also used fat free half and half instead of the milk, I often use it for cooking and it tasted great. As of the following day, there were no leftovers, and that speaks for itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Quiche Lorraine I

See how to make an impressive classic with eggs, bacon, and Swiss cheese.

Easy Quiche

A delicious, quick-and-easy quiche with broccoli, ham, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States