Quiche Lorraine II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2003
In trying out a variety of quiche recipes from this site, I found this to be one of the best. It makes a wonderful custard-type filling. I used 1/4 cup minced green onion, 1/2 cup ham, and omitted the nutmeg. I think pie crust takes away from the quiche, so I do a quick spray with olive oil flavored cooking spray in the quiche pan, then dust it with 2T cornmeal.Second time around, I used 1/2 whipping cream, and 1/2 half and half. Great both ways, but creamier texture with whipping cream/half and half. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
Awesome! The whole family liked it. I substituted kraft fat free cheddar for the gruyere cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermon, Maine, USA
Living In: Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
This is a good recipe, but I think the cheese amount is suppose to be 1/2 cup not 1/2 pound
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
I'm a total beginer when it comes to cooking but found this recipe to be pretty straight forward. I had a hard time getting the custard to thicken until I turned up the heat a little higher and I also had to leave the quiche in the over for 10 minutes more than the recipe calls for. Maybe because my quiche dish is quite thick. Next time I do it I think I'll go for a little more custard filling, a little less cheese, and a little more meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
excellent, wil use many more times
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loganholme, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I'm not sure what happened here but, 90 minutes later, my quiche is still not set and the bottom of the pan is filled with water - possibly from the ham? I used cheddar cheese but that shouldn't have made a difference. It's a good thing I fried up some potatoes because at this point, my dh is tired of waiting on dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
This was the first time I have ever made quiche. I used half & half along with 1 cup of milk. Next time, I will probably omit the nutmeg (personal taste. I used monetery jack cheese and minced green onions. I baked it about 10 minutes longer than the recipe called for and at 400. It set well and tasted very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
Excellent, I cooked it an extra 15 minutes. I didn't have any onions on hand, so I fried up some fresh mushrooms and added them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Complete disaster. The pastery didn't cook, The milk didn't evaporate. The custard looked more like scambled eggs. What went wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I gave this four stars only because I had to add additional seasoning to it (I was afraid it would be too bland if I didn't, and after tasting the finished product I think I was right). I added a bit of curry and pepper, garlic powder and what I'm sure had to be two "pinches" of nutmeg. The overall recipe was wonderful, using smoked ham and smoked gruyere cheese. I even used a store bought crust - which I normally don't do. I also used fat free half and half instead of the milk, I often use it for cooking and it tasted great. As of the following day, there were no leftovers, and that speaks for itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Quiche Lorraine I

See how to make an impressive classic with eggs, bacon, and Swiss cheese.

Easy Quiche

A delicious, quick-and-easy quiche with broccoli, ham, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States