Quiche Lorraine II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This was very tasty, and I didn't have a problem with it being too liquidy. However, I did make the huge blunder of picking up a graham cracker crust at the store to bake it in -- D'OH! Laziness did me in; I should have just made one myself. We had to eat the quiche scraped out of the sweet crust. Of course, that's not the recipe writer's fault, only my own. I should have been paying more attention. Hopefully someone here can learn from my mistake! Oh yes, I also substituted regular onions out for scallions instead, and this worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I agree that it was too much liquid and then my crust was soggy. And I personally like my quiche mixed up instead if layered, so next time I will mix the egg, onions, cheese, and ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I think there is too much liquid in this recipe, so maybe reduce cheese or milk. Mine didn't firm up either. Didn't have the crust problem, but I did hand make my own crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Some quiche recipes require prebaking the pie crust and other recipes don't mention it. I always prebake the crust to prevent sogginess. This was very good, but I did add additional ham as we were having this for dinner. I also ended up with a lot of extra egg batter, so I would recommend using only 3 eggs and 1.5 cups milk. I did find this to be a little too salty (maybe my ham?) so I'd omit it and salt at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
ok. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This was the first time I ever made quiche. I made it for my husband (who is an wonderful cook) who said it was the best quiche he has ever had and the best thing I have ever cooked! I will definitely keep using this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I gave this four stars only because I had to add additional seasoning to it (I was afraid it would be too bland if I didn't, and after tasting the finished product I think I was right). I added a bit of curry and pepper, garlic powder and what I'm sure had to be two "pinches" of nutmeg. The overall recipe was wonderful, using smoked ham and smoked gruyere cheese. I even used a store bought crust - which I normally don't do. I also used fat free half and half instead of the milk, I often use it for cooking and it tasted great. As of the following day, there were no leftovers, and that speaks for itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Complete disaster. The pastery didn't cook, The milk didn't evaporate. The custard looked more like scambled eggs. What went wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
Excellent, I cooked it an extra 15 minutes. I didn't have any onions on hand, so I fried up some fresh mushrooms and added them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
This was the first time I have ever made quiche. I used half & half along with 1 cup of milk. Next time, I will probably omit the nutmeg (personal taste. I used monetery jack cheese and minced green onions. I baked it about 10 minutes longer than the recipe called for and at 400. It set well and tasted very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Quiche Lorraine I

See how to make an impressive classic with eggs, bacon, and Swiss cheese.

Easy Quiche

A delicious, quick-and-easy quiche with broccoli, ham, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States