Quiche Lorraine II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ed Denmat
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
It WORKED!!!! My wife says that my first quiche was better than any quiche she's ever had. Don't mind saying I was worried since I can't even remember ever eating quiche before, let alone cooking it. I minced up some pancetta instead of ham and substituted a half cup of heavy cream for the second cup of milk. I worried for nothing... the texture and flavor were lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Denmat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This was very nice, maybe my first time ever making a quiche. I tried to make it exactly as possible, but had to increase the cooking time to 35 minutes. By then, the crust edges were getting close to burning, so I stopped. Unfortunately, the quiche was fairly runny (liquid, as opposed to just oozing); this is a common problem with fruit pies I make, probably because I live at a high elevation. Despite not getting the consistency right, I thought the taste was wonderful - I'm not sure I've ever cooked with Gruyere. It is fairly easy to make, so I'll go ahead and recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This was ok. Seemed to lack flavour actually. And definitely did not need a pinch of salt - the ham made it salty enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prittykitty74

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I used the suggested 1 1/2 cups of half and half and a little more ham. I also, used a deep dish pan and since I was using the pre-made crust, the top of the crust was below the top of the dish, but I was glad that I did it that way 'cos as others have said...I think it would have overflowed. I also added a little pepper. Very good recipe. Rich without being heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
It's been 30 years since I have made a quiche. I needed to make a dish for my daughter's 2nd grade class representing her heritage. I found my mom's old quiche pans packed away. I liked this recipe because it was simple and I am guessing will be well liked by her classmates. I made a test run today and used store bought crust to line the pan. I did keep it in the oven an extra 10 or so minutes in order to get the golden color. Absolutely perfect looking and tasting. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This is a good basic recipe that only needs a few changes. A whole onion is WAY too much. 1/2 is plenty. Use the deep dish crust. Otherwise, there is too much filling. Also, you want to pre-bake the frozen crust for 10 minutes to avoid sogginess. I added garlic powder (1 tbl.) and cayenne (1/2 tbl) as recommended. I used half and half instead of milk and cut it down to 1 1/2 cups. There is no need to heat the egg and milk mixture before pouring it on top of the cheese/ham mixture. This keeps it from filling in the cracks. And it never hurts to throw in some mushrooms and extra ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I've made it twice and it is perfect. Easy and delicious. Just a clssic quiche!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I took the advice of some other reviewers, and reduced the amount of milk (to 1 cup skim & 1/2 cup fat free half-and-half), and even so it barely fit in the pie crust. I also used monterey jack cheese, and included sauteed mushrooms with the sauteed onion. I used a little more nutmeg than the original recipe called for, and a little garlic powder. I didn't have a ham steak, so I used deli meat -- given the choice, I think I'd go with a chopped up ham steak, but the chopped up deli meat wasn't bad. It also took an extra 15 minutes to cook. But the result was fantastic! My fiance had two pieces, plus some more for breakfast the next morning (and he never eats breakfast). Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This is a great recipe. I used 1.5 cups heavy cream rather than the 2 cups milk in the recipe. I had a bit of a problem when cooking the mixture of eggs and cream as lumps formed. I used a double boiler the second time I made the quiche, but lumps still formed. I am a beginner cook. But I would recommend making sure you stir the mixture fervently and stand over it to assure the lumps don't form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I really enjoyed this quiche, but it takes some time, quite a lot more than the recipe indicates. All the quiches I've made in the past you just poured the egg/milk mixture in on the filling ingredients and popped it in the oven. With this recipe, I spent at least 30 minutes at the stove just stirring the custard until it began to thicken and I was starting to think it NEVER was going to show signs of thickening! I used more than 1/3 cup of ham, that sounded like way too little, I probably used about a cup of diced ham (from a ham steak), which I browned in a skillet until all the excess water cooked out of it (it would have left my quiche pretty runny if I hadn't done that). I also added some sauteed mushrooms. I had maybe 1/2 cup more egg mixture than would fit in the crust because of the extra filling ingredients. The 30 minute cook time was perfect, I had brown crust and the egg filling was set. You do really have to spend some time cooking that filling on the stove over low heat though to get it to the point that it's beginning to thicken. I am not entirely sure that the result was worth the extra effort, but it was a very nice textured quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Quiche Lorraine I

See how to make an impressive classic with eggs, bacon, and Swiss cheese.

Easy Quiche

A delicious, quick-and-easy quiche with broccoli, ham, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States