Quiche Lorraine I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ANGELWINGS
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
GREAT recipe! I made a few changes... I was scared by the comments about the quiche being too runny, so I used 1 1/2 cups whipping cream instead. I hand-measured the salt and pepper - using a mixture of black and white pepper instead of cayene. I also used 1 cup of swiss and 1/2 cup of grated guyere. Added spinach instead of onions. It turned out gorgeous (for some reason I had doubts it would!). I did cover the edges with aluminum foil 25-minutes into baking to prevent it getting too dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
503 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELWINGS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
This turned out BEAUTIFULLY! I made the following alterations: I used 5 eggs in all, 1/3 c. heavy cream plus 1 c. 1% milk instead of 2 cups cream, I saute'd the onion and 1 clove garlic in the bacon grease, then pressed and blotted to drain grease in fine-mesh strainer. I mixed the onion/garlic with the bacon and, on top of that, layered 5 oz. frozen chopped spinach (which I nuked for 2.5 minutes, then pressed to drain the water). I topped that with the 1 c. Swiss and, finally, the egg mixture. Oh, and my store-bought crust fell out of the freezer and cracked on the floor, so I found a recipe online for a wheat crust. It turned out pretty and DELICIOUS... better than I'd hoped. Thanks for a GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
275 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Manitowish Waters, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This was pretty good. I used a regular store bought pie shell and used only 1 1/2 cups cream, but it was still too much and I had to throw out some of the mixture. I would suggest using only 1 cup cream, because after cooking for an extra 15 minutes it was still very softish. I sauted my onions in my bacon grease, because they are better put in cooked than raw. Other than that I followed the recipe. Definately let it cool for 10 minutes or longer before cutting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2003
This was the third type of quiche I made for a PTA brunch I catered last week. This recipe is pretty traditional, but I loved the onions and the cayenne pepper. I sauted the onions in a little butter first. I also reduced the amount of salt based on previous suggestions. One of the guests at the brunch said she had been making Quiche Lorraine for over 20 years and she liked this quiche better than her own! She asked for the recipe too. I would definitely make again, but would like to experiment with the addition of vegetables. Very yummy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
a bit runny, so will add a bit less half and half. added mushrooms and frozen spinach, used 'real' bacon bits, and sauted the onions first. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sakuraiiko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
Very good, basic quiche recipe. Like previous reviewers, I found that the quiche was not done after the recommended cooking time. I had to cook mine an additional 8 minutes in order for it to be set in the center, which is when I consider a quiche to be done. This is also an excellent "base" recipe to use with other veggies, cheeses, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
This had the flavor of the quiche that I remember but next time I will saute the onions before putting them in. They were too crunchy and a little too overwhelming when put in raw. Otherwise, it's a perfect quiche recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2003
Good quiche, Jennifer. My family prefers quiche to be a little firmer in texture. In reviewing some of the comments, I decided to cut the whipping cream to 1 1/2 cups and add 1/2c of Gruyere cheese with the 1 cup of swiss. I omitted the sugar and salt also. Purrrrfect! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
This quiche was the best! And so easy to make! Even the most finicky of eaters at my house asked for seconds. I served it with the "Spring Strawberry Spinach Salad" also from this site and it was a HUGE HIT! Thanks for a great recipe, Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
Made this quiche for a baby shower I was hosting. The Mama-to-Be just emailed me asking for the recipe because she just loved it so much!!! I followed the recipe exactly and had no problems. I would wait for it to cool completely before slicing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quiche Lorraine I

See how to make an impressive classic with eggs, bacon, and Swiss cheese.

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Quiche

Watch how to prepare this make-ahead quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States